LC-M teachers honored

Published 7:41 pm Friday, June 2, 2017

Special to The Leader

The last school day of the year for Little Cypress-Mauriceville teachers was also a day to recognize those who have reached service milestones and those who have been selected by their peers and supervisors as outstanding in their service to the children of LCM and the community.

Auxiliary Employees of the Year were Elizabeth White – Child Nutrition, Al Cantu – Maintenance and Barbara Johnson – Transportation.

Paraprofessionals of the year were Carolyn Bickham – Mauriceville Middle School, Michael Layman – Little Cypress Elementary, Liz Coleman – Mauriceville Elementary, Samantha Arrington – Little Cypress Intermediate, Debbie Manshack – Little Cypress Junior High, Robin Laurence – Little Cypress- Mauriceville High School and Melissa Usie – District Departments.

The District Teachers of the Year (TOY) are selected from the campus Teachers of the Year. The District Secondary TOY is Lindsey Fruge, who is also the LCM High School TOY. Other TOYs from the secondary schools are John Martin of Mauriceville Middle School and Emily Dalfrey of Little Cypress Junior High.

The District Elementary TOY is Jamee Summers of Little Cypress Intermediate School. Tera Cassidy represented Little Cypress Elementary as TOY and Christy Landers was the Mauriceville TOY.

These District TOYs were selected by an anonymous panel of three judges who are not aware of the teachers’ names, who are from the educational world and who usually are not local residents. The District TOY applications will now move on to Region 5 where they will be judged along with other teachers from across the Region 5 service area. The winners of that round will then be entered into the State 2018 TOY contest.