Sophisticats take top awards at competition

Published 10:53 am Saturday, March 11, 2017

Special to The Leader

The Sophisticats Drill Team from Orangefield High School recently returned from two dance competitions in the Houston area.

At American Dance and Drill contest at Dekaney High School the girls had a successful weekend! They received the “Wow Factor” award for their Novelty, Sweepstakes for both officer and team routines. The Sophisticats received judge’s awards for all 8 of their team and officer dances. Carlee Grimes won 1st runner up and Meara Patterson won 1st overall for their solos. The officers received platinum best overall officers for their technique and Best in class! The team won 1st runner up in in class and 3rd overall out of 44 teams.

At Danceline USA State Championship the Sophisticats won STATE GRAND CHAMPION in both officer and team categories! Both officer and team won Platinum Sweepstakes and Outstanding overall presentation for their Novelty dance. The team prop dance won a special Judge’s Award. All routines won best in category. Meara Patterson received the “Anita Jefferson Connely Award”. Carlee Grimes placed 2nd in Leap technique and Meara Patterson won 1st in turn technique. Carlee Grimes placed 4th and Meara Patterson placed 3rd overall for their solos. The team was awarded Silver Ring of Champions.

The Sophisticats are directed by Jill Yeaman and assisted by Jerri Graffagnino. The 2017 Spring Show will be April 20th at 6:30 p.m. at the Julie Rogers Theater in Beaumont. Tickets are $7 for adults and $5 for children 10 & under and are available from line members and managers. For more information, contact Orangefield High School at 409-735-3851.

2017 Sophisticats: Captain- Meara Patterson (Not Pictured), 1st Lieutenant- Carlee Grimes, Lieutenant- Abby Gautreaux, Lieutenant- Kaycee LeBouef, Lieutenant- Cassidy Schiefelbein, President- Emily Graffagnino, Vice President- Katey McCall, Historian- Savannah Grant, Danika Dubose, Crissey Harvey, Jocelynn Myrick, Caitlyn LeBouef, Makayla Hazen, Trinity Sims, Whitley Hoyland, Madison Walles, and Managers; Brittany Patillo, Alexis Sturrock, Kylie Williamson, and Sabrina Droll.