LCM Appreciates Board

Published 7:06 am Wednesday, January 25, 2017

Special to The Leader

January is School Board Recognition Month and Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD has joined other districts across the state to thank these local leaders for their dedication and willingness to serve as advocates for our students and public schools. As elected officials, they are the voice of their communities, serving first and foremost in the best interest of Texas school children.

According to Dr. Pauline Hargrove, Superintendent of LCM CISD, “It is an honor and a privilege to recognize and appreciate our outstanding Board Members who serve voluntarily, 365 days of the year, to make a positive difference in our communities. Though the challenges are difficult, and the responsibilities are critical, the members continuously focus on our commitment to provide equity and excellence for all students.”

“It is imperative for the public to be involved in and support our schools in order for our students to be successful, productive citizens and the leaders of tomorrow. Therefore, our Board Members are diligent in their roles to provide vision and leadership. As advocates, they continue to stand up for public education which serves all children, as well as the state and nation. They understand the importance of funding to education and guard against measures that threaten and take away from our children,” said Dr. Hargrove.

The LCMCISD Board was honored earlier this year as the “Region 5 Board of the Year.” They consistently earn more than the required hours of training and are focused on how best they can serve all students in the District. Just a few of the successes LCM CISD has accomplished under their leadership include:

  • passing a $56 million bond for capital projects,
  • overseeing building projects at all campuses,
  • providing the best possible technology and training for students and staff,
  • providing for individual and team student success in all areas – academic, fine arts, and athletic competitions, resulting in Post-district champions, State qualifiers and State winners, and
  • focusing on STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) throughout the District, LCM High School “Designated TEA STEM Academy.”

Current Board Members are Tammy Rountree – President, Marlene Courmier – Vice-President, Randy McIlwain – Secretary, Rex Peveto, David Jones, Ray Rogers, and Aubrey Milstead. Ms. Rountree summed up the sentiment of the Board: “We serve to preserve and improve the quality of LCMCISD schools. It also gives us opportunities to contribute and improve our community.”

“Our district greatly benefits from the tireless work and countless hours contributed by this team of local citizens who so generously give of themselves. Serving as a crucial link between the community and classroom, this Board is responsible for an annual budget of $33,831,163 million, approximately 3,375 students, 545 employees, and six campuses. Please help us thank these dedicated volunteers for their efforts to make a difference and their unfailing commitment to the continued success of our students now and in the future,” said Dr. Hargrove.