Three Orange residents return as Lamar University selects 2016-2017 Ambassadors

Published 11:11 am Wednesday, May 11, 2016

Special to The Leader

BEAUMONT — Lamar University has selected 19 students to serve as Lamar Ambassadors. They will join 28 returning ambassadors in representing the student body at official university events during the 2016-2017 academic year.

“The success of many endeavors at Lamar University is due, in large part, to our collaborations with alumni, donors and community leaders,” said Shannon Copeland, director of alumni affairs.  “The Ambassadors Program connects some of our most accomplished students with these constituents, strengthening vital bonds and increasing opportunities for all students of our university.”

Lamar University Ambassadors are a select group of students who serve the university by getting involved on campus and demonstrating school pride, building goodwill among alumni and community supporters at various public functions and representing the student body to visiting dignitaries.

“Lamar Ambassadors are very involved on campus, maintain high academic performance and are well informed about the university and what it has to offer students, alumni and the community,” Copeland said.

To serve as an ambassador, an applicant must be a registered full-time student, be classified as a sophomore or junior in the fall semester and maintain a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.0.  Applicants must also submit a letter of interest, resume, faculty or staff recommendation and have approval from their college dean.

Newly selected Lamar University Ambassadors, listed by hometowns and majors, are:

ARGENTINA: Maria Estibaliz Azpilicueta, chemical engineering.

 BEAUMONT: Natalie Sfeir, speech and hearing sciences.

CLEVELAND: Cassandra Jenkins, communication and journalism.

DHAKA, BANGLADESH: Progga Chirontoni, chemical engineering.

GROVES: Avery Murdock, biology (pre-physical therapy); and Tiffany Taylor Reasons, biology (pre-medicine).

HOUSTON:  Caroline Nwandu, biochemistry (pre-medicine); and Lowell Washington, pre-nursing.

LOS ANGELES, Calif.: Fredrick Ryans, computer information science.

LUMBERTON: Katherine Deaton, chemical engineering; Raylin Hooks, music education; and Marcus Rodgers, mechanical engineering.

MISSOURI CITY: Joshua Bonnette, mechanical engineering; and Derek Inoma, industrial engineering.

ORANGE: Emily McCall, biology (pre-medicine); Kimanh Tsan, chemical engineering (pre-dental); and Thanh Tsan, mechanical engineering.

PORT NECHES:  Victoria LaFleur, accounting and finance.

ROCKWALL: Stephanie DeMeyer, American Sign Language and corporate communication.

Returning Ambassadors are Oxy Benites, Port Neches, pre-nursing; Christian Brent, Houston, pre-nursing; Kirby Clayton, Orange, mechanical engineering; Kayla Clifton, Port Neches, management; Erica Edgerly, Orangefield, fashion merchandising; John Ellis, Orange, computer information science; Jorge Herrera, Port Arthur, exercise science and fitness management (pre-physician assistant); Dalton Holly, Post, management; Cade Johnson, Lumberton, exercise science and fitness management and biology (pre-medicine); Aaron Lavergne, Houston, mechanical engineering; Katie Loftin, Saratoga, advertising communication; Margeaux Marks, Beaumont, industrial engineering; Matthew McAfee, Orange, mathematics; Trent McGee, Nederland, music education; Kinnedy Mitchell, Vidor, psychology (pre-physician assistant); Colton Morris, Orange, marketing; Micah Murdock, Groves, chemical engineering; Elohor Okene, Houston, chemical engineering; Love Osemwegie, Houston, political science; Lydia Rosario, Beaumont, accounting; Dani Sanders, Orange, political science; Ryan Sherer, Nederland, management; Tyler Sumrall, Port Neches, communication; Kay-Alana Turner, Beaumont, management; A.J. Webb, Duncanville, applied arts and sciences; Shelby Whitehead, Lumberton, chemical engineering; Eric Yeager, Santa Fe, biology (pre-medicine) and Kevin Zabala, Beaumont, psychology.

For more information about the Lamar University Ambassadors, contact the Office of Alumni Affairs at (409) 880-8921 or