Lamar State College-Orange recognizes Students’ Academic Achievement at Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Induction Ceremony

Published 8:35 am Saturday, December 26, 2015

Special to The Leader

The Alpha Nu Gamma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society welcomed over 30 new members for the fall 2015 semester. The Induction Ceremony was held at the Brown Estate, on Friday evening, December 4, 2015. A total of 102 attended, including 24 inductees and their guests, as well as Phi Theta Kappa advisors and other LSC-O personnel.

LSC-O students become eligible for membership once they have completed at least 12 college-level credit hours and earned an institutional GPA of 3.5 or better during their last five years of enrollment. Attendance at the induction ceremony is not a condition of membership.

The benefits of Phi Theta Kappa membership include recognition of academic achievement, as well as opportunities to apply for scholarships and participate in service projects and leadership development programming.

Dr. Hunter Keeney, LSC-O Instructor of Biology, gave the keynote address. Mr. Michael Yeater, VP for Student Services and Auxiliary Enterprises, also spoke, highlighting the importance for students of involvement in campus organizations. Ms. Bobbi Miller, LSC-O Instructor of Sociology and Phi Theta Kappa Co-Advisor, presented both Dr. Keeney and Mr. Yeater with honorary member certificates.

Ms. Dee Simon, Phi Theta Kappa Chapter VP, lit a candle—representing the flame of knowledge and wisdom—for each new member. Ms. Angela Randall, Phi Theta Kappa Chapter President, led inductees in the oath of membership.

A buffet dinner was served following the ceremony.

New Phi Theta Kappa members include the following:

BEAUMONT, TX: Adrienne Crutcher, Jeshanah Williams

BRIDGE CITY, TX: Gloria Barnhart, Jason Bischof, Lisha Ellis, Caleb Spruell, Jessica Westlund

EAVADALE, TX: Hula Bowman

KIRBYVILLE, TX: Lisa Richards

LAKE CHARLES, LA: Amber Chapman, Ashleigh Trahan


NEDERLAND, TX: Julia Loncon

ORANGE, TX: Kimberly Arrington, Brittneyanne Bergeron, Joseph Bloodworth, Angela Brown, Bethany Butler, Hannah Faulk, Molly Freed, Mackenzie Murdock, Carrie Poole, Tyler Richard, Pamela Rogillio, Lora Rutherford, Jacob Sallies, Tami Shafer, Amanda Stout, Courtney Webb

PORT ARTHUR, TX: Amber Poche

SILSBEE, TX: Laura Acklin, Kindel Kelley, Victoria Lightfoot, Chambree Smith

SULPHUR, LA: Patty Willis

VIDOR, TX: Johnie Hinson, Amber Okun