20 inducted into NJHS at MMS

Published 7:28 am Wednesday, October 7, 2015

Special to The Leader

MAURICEVILLE — Twenty students from Mauriceville Middle School were inducted as new members of the National Junior Honor Society in a ceremony held at the school on May 26, 2015.  New officers were installed as well. They are Collin Freed – President,  Brett Burrows – Vice President, Hannah Parry – Secretary, Zoe Levens – Parliamentarian and Kelsey Jordan – Historian/Treasurer.

Members were selected by the chapter’s faculty council for meeting high standards of scholarship, service, leadership, citizenship and character.  Each year the chapter completes service projects for the community and the school:  students placed flags on the graves of our beloved veterans for Veterans’ Day and raised funds to award our first Mauriceville Middle School NJHS Scholarship to Chloe Fisher, a distinguished LCM graduate.

The National Junior Honor Society ranks as one of the oldest and most prestigious national organizations for middle school students.  In addition to the officers mentioned above, returning members are Reagan Wolfford, Caleb Weaver, Rylee LaVasseur, and Jourdyn Jaume.

Members Inducted  for 2015-2016 are Ryan Ford, Colton McIlwain, Beau Wheat, Logan Gaddis, Mandalyn Lewallen, Destini Robertson, Elijah Hughes, Cooper McGraw, Austin Smith, Jack Burke, Tamra Jacquet, Ethan Duhon, Chelsea Robin, Nicholas Hanson, Bella Rogers, Gavin Fountain, Layne Pevey, Alexis Brown and Lizeth Delafuente. Betty Martin is the NJHS sponsor at MMS.