Orange County student-athletes named finalists for Golf Awards

Published 12:02 am Thursday, May 23, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Numerous Orange County student-athletes have been named finalists and honorees for the 2024 Babe Zaharias High School Junior Golf Awards.

An awards banquet recognizing Southeast Texas’ top high school golfers, underclassmen and coaches for 2023-24, sponsored by The Astros Golf Foundation, Trecora and Wells Fargo Advisors, is planned Tuesday at 5 Under Golf Center in Beaumont.

Lincoln Parks of Orangefield, Ashley Hale of Bridge City and Jordan Rucker of Orangefield are some of those in contention for major awards.

The banquet includes a lineup of those in the collegiate golf world with keynote speakers: Jessie Mudd, Lamar University men’s head coach; Theo Sliman, University of Louisiana Lafayette men’s head coach; and Janelle Howland O’Connor, Lamar University women’s head coach.

“This remarkable event celebrates high school golfers, their coaches, and the esteemed reputation of golf in our region,” Babe Zaharias Foundation Board Member Austin Williams said.

The Babe Zaharias High School Junior Golf Awards is part of the Babe Zaharias Foundation legacy, whose mission is to develop young men and women on and off the course, inspire them and impress upon them the importance of hard work, integrity and respect for their fellow competitors and the game of golf.

Recipients of the award are historically high school junior golfers who have overcome adversity on and off the course, impacted the game in a positive way, displayed integrity and sportsmanship in all aspects of life, and who embody the spirit of the game with success.

“Hosting distinguished figures like Brian White, Giles Kibbe, and Chris Stroud (PGA Pro Golfer and PNG, Lamar alum) as keynote speakers in previous years adds a special touch—it’s truly inspiring for the young athletes and everyone involved,” Williams said.

“This year we aimed to create an opportunity to engage with NCAA Division One coaches and for parents and players to gain insights into the recruitment process.”

Seating for the banquet is limited. Reservations to attend are required. Call 409-232-0205 or email for details.

This year’s nominees for Girls Player of the Year:

Tatum Bean – Port Neches Groves

Trinity Smith – East Chambers

Hallie Westfall – Hardin-Jefferson

Annie Whitehead – Lumberton

Girls Character Award:

Ashley Hale – Bridge City

Ava Henson – Deweyville

Lannie McMillon – Kirbyville

Hallie Westfall – Hardin-Jefferson

Girls Underclassmen Player of the Year:

Erin Eaves – Monsignor Kelly Catholic

Annie Whitehead – Lumberton

Girls Underclassmen Character Award:

Grace Dai – Monsignor Kelly Catholic

Jordan Rucker – Orangefield

Boys Player of the Year:

Travis Atwood – Lumberton

Julian Mathews – Monsignor Kelly Catholic

Lincoln Parks – Orangefield

Jaxon Wolf – Port Neches-Groves

Boys Character Award:

Drew Turley – Monsignor Kelly Catholic

Robert Barron – Nederland

Evan Klutts – Port Neches-Groves

Boys Underclassmen Player of the Year:

Drake Andrepont – Hardin-Jefferson

Foster Cecka – Port Neches-Groves

Chase Ion – Hardin-Jefferson

Reece Williams – Monsignor Kelly Catholic

Boys Underclassmen Character Award:

Drake Andrepont – Hardin-Jefferson

Foster Cecka – Port Neches-Groves

Chase Ion – Hardin Jefferson

Reece Williams – Monsignor Kelly Catholic