Orange County voters weigh in on sheriff, constable and more

Published 10:34 pm Tuesday, March 5, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

More than 16,000 votes were cast in Orange County for the Primary Election.

The majority of those votes (10,152) were cast during the Early Voting period, with another 5,947 on Tuesday.

Numerous local races brought people to the polls.

In the race for the Republican nomination for Orange County sheriff, challenger Bobby Smith won with 56.09 percent of the turnout, which accounted for 8,340 votes.

Incumbent Jimmy Lane Mooney came in second with 28.93 percent or 4,302 votes.

Mike Sanchez (10.3 percent) and Ron Dischler (4.67 percent) finished third and fourth.

In the race for Constable Precinct 2, Jeremiah Gunter won with 59.3 percent of the turnout for 2,167 votes.

David Bailey (21.78 percent) came in second with 796 votes and Harold Hass came in third with 18.91 percent for 691 votes.

Gunter was the incumbent.

In the race for Constable Precinct 4, challenger Joey Jacobs earned the win with 2,776 votes for 68.17 percent of the turnout. Incumbent Matt Ortego earned 1,296 votes (31.83 percent).

In the race for Orange County Republican Party Chair, incumbent Leo LaBauve III was defeated by Cheryl L. Warren.

Warren earned 6,880 votes (56.12 percent) compared to LaBauve, who secured 5,379 votes (43.88 percent).

In the races for Republican precinct chars:

Chair 9 – Genevieve Garrison topped Gary Self

Chair 15 – Tim Morrison topped Stephanie Roberts

Chair 25 – John P. Dubose topped Trudy C. Pellerin

Chair 26 – Rachel Stein topped Kandice Bacon

Chair 28 – Robert Simonton topped Aaron Collier

Election Day voting in the Primary Election was from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday at locations across Orange County.

Early voting concluded Friday.

Locally, there were no Democratic candidates on the ballot, though higher offices on the federal and state side also have contested races.

Locally, on the Republican side, there were numerous contested races, plus the State Representative District 21 seat.

The District 21 field covers Orange County, Jasper County and a portion of Jefferson County.

In that race, incumbent Dade Phelan faces as primary challenge from David Covey and Alicia Davis.

Phelan and Covey are headed to a runoff.