Filings in Orange County complete for March Primary; see the list

Published 12:20 am Thursday, December 14, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Filings in Orange County for the March Primary ended with four contested races in the Republican Party and no filings in the Democratic Party.

Early voting for the Primary election is from Feb. 20 to March 1.

Primary Election Day is March 5.

The upcoming Primary is only for the two main parties, Republican and Democratic.

Candidates can have their name placed on the general election ballot if they are not affiliated with a political party, according to the Texas Secretary of State.

The Green and Libertarian candidates nominate candidates via convention.

The winners from each party’s Primary are placed on the Nov. 5, 2024, general election ballot.

Four candidates are vying for the Orange County Sheriff’s spot including incumbent Jimmy Lane Mooney, Ron Dischler, Mike Sanchez and Bobby Smith.

The Orange County Constable Precinct 2 seat has three candidates, which include incumbent Jeremiah Gunter, David C. Bailey and Harold W. Hass.

The Orange County Constable Precinct 4 spot has two candidates, incumbent Matt Ortego and Joey Jacobs.

Two candidates are vying for the Orange County Republican Party Chair, incumbent Leo LaBauve III and Cheryl L. Warren.

A full list of candidates vying for a spot on the Orange County Republican Primary ballot:

  • Orange County Commissioner Precinct 1: (incumbent) Johnny A. Trahan
  • Orange County Commissioner Precinct 3: (incumbent) Kirk Roccaforte
  • Orange County Sheriff: (incumbent) Jimmy Lane Mooney, Ron Dischler, Mike Sanchez, Bobby Smith
  • Orange County Constable Precinct 1: (Incumbent) Lannie Claybar
  • Orange County Constable Precinct 2: (incumbent) Jeremiah Gunter, David C. Bailey, Harold W. Hass
  • Orange County Constable Precinct 3: (incumbent) Brad Frye
  • Orange County Constable Precinct 4: (incumbent) Matt Ortego, Joey Jacobs
  • Orange County Court of Law No. 2, Judge: Rodney Townsend
  • District Judge, 128th district court: (incumbent) Judge Courtney Arkeen
  • 163rd Judicial District Judge: (incumbent) Judge Rex Peveto
  • Orange County District Attorney: Krispen Walker
  • Orange County Tax Assessor/Collector: Octavia Guzman
  • Orange County Republican Party Chair: (incumbent) Leo LaBauve III, Cheryl L. Warren