Primary Runoff Election Results

Published 7:34 am Wednesday, July 15, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Less than one percent of the voters turned out for the primary runoffs on Tuesday. A total of 1,701 persons voted in Orange County with 1,037 Republicans and 664 Democrats. Five ballots were left blank.

Results for the Republican candidates are:

Republican Chief Justice 9th Court of Appeals

Jay Wright       507

Scott Golemon           527


Results for the Democrat candidates are:

Democrat US Senator

Royce West     307

Mary “MJ” Hegar       354


Democrat Railroad Commissioner

Chrysta Castaneda 368

Roberto R. “Beto” Alonzo       283


The winner of Chief Justice 9th Court of Appeals will run unopposed in the general Election in November.

At this time, a winner has not been declared as the numbers were too close to call.

Mary “MJ” Hegar will face incumbent John Cornyn (Republican) in the November election. Also running for U.S Senator are:

Cedric Jefferson  (People Over Politics Party)

James Brumley (The Human Rights Party)

Tim Smith (Independent)

Arjun Srinivasan (Independent)

Ricardo Turullols-Bonilla (Independent)

In November, Castaneda will face James Wright (Republican) for Railroad Commissioner.