Six OC baseballers make Academic All-State

Published 9:28 am Tuesday, May 5, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Texas High School Coaches Association recently released its selections for the 2020 All-State Academic Team.

Orange County was represented by six players.

Orangefield’s Kadeon Evans (Secpond Team), Jacob Harvey (Honorable Mention) and Connor Tait (HM) each made the unit along with Bridge City’s Tanner Wilson (HM) and Cameron Yadon (HM) and West Orange-Stark’s Nicholas Provost (Second Team).

Port Neches-Groves had six players make the elite unit including Keaton Richard (Second Team), Ashton Frusha (HM), Cody Lyles (HM), Josh Pippen (HM), Reid Porter (HM) and Alex Powers (HM).

East Chambers had three players on the unit including Dustin Armentor (HM), Lance Devillier (HM) and Grayson Galbreath (HM) and Jasper’s William Gaston (Second) also made the team.

To be considered for the honors, a student must be an athlete, student trainer or manager in good standing with the team; of good moral character; a senior; and have an overall grade-point average of 92 or above.