Six Bear footballers honored for Academic success

Published 3:03 pm Thursday, January 30, 2020

Six Little Cypress-Mauriceville High School athletes have been named as Texas Army National Guard and the Texas High School Coaches Association (THSCA) 2019-2020 Academic All-State Recipients.

Honorable Mention includes Ethan McCollum, Landon Bearden, Tyler Rhodes and Kyle White. Max Greer and Matthew Lopez were named Second Team.

According to the THSCA website, “We understand that students’ performance in the classroom can sometimes be difficult to manage while participating in athletics, but their hard work has not gone unnoticed. The THSCA Academic All-State Teams recognize high school athletes who excel in the following categories: GPA, class rank and ACT/SAT score. These students are being recognized as a team member based on their scores in these categories. We applaud them for their commitment and dedication to perform with the highest of excellence academically and on the field or court.”