Griffith among SETCA Hall honorees this weekend

Published 9:05 am Monday, January 20, 2020

BEAUMONT – The Southeast Texas Coaches Association recently named its four inductees for their Hall of Fame upcoming SETCA Banquet that will be held Saturday at noon at the Compro Event Center in Beaumont along with its Coaches of the Year in each sport. The coaches will be honored Saturday, Jan. 25 during a presentation at the Compro Event Center in Beaumont at noon that day.

One of the four Hall of Fame members will be long-time Little Cypress-Mauriceville baseball coach Steve Griffith.

Griffith had an amazing run at his alma mater and definitely put Battlin’ Bear Baseball on the map. Griffith led the Bears program to over 600 wins, becoming one of the winningest coaches in the history of Class 4A baseball.

Coach Griffith led the Bears to 21 playoff appearances. He led the program to the State Championship Game in 1996 and guided the Bears to six Region III Finals.

The other three inductees will be Coach Matt Burnett, who flourished as a player and head football coach at Port Neches-Groves High School; trainer Johnie McDonald; and Barbers Hill volleyball coach John Leonard.

The following coaches will be honored at the event:

Football: Mike McEachern, Huffman-Hargrave

Boys Cross Country: Kris Gilmore, Huffman-Hargrave

Girls Cross Country: Stephanie Williams, Orangefield

Boys Basketball: Todd Sutherland, East Chambers

Girls Basketball: Mike Fogo, Hardin-Jefferson

Boys Golf: Bart Williams, LC-M

Girls Golf: Lindsay Miller, Hardin-Jefferson

Boys Tennis: Jorge Lopez, Nederland

Girls Tennis: Kyle Mead, Huffman-Hargrave

Volleyball: Tammy White, Huffman-Hargrave

Boys Powerlifting: Ericka Richard, Bridge City

Girls Powerlifting: John Davis, Orangefield

Boys Soccer: William Freeman, Goose Creek Memorial

Girls Soccer: Jason Hopson, Lumberton

Boys Track: Chris Fontenot, East Chambers

Girls Track: Johnathan Snipes, East Chambers

Baseball: Jacob Hooker, Big Sandy

Softball: Garrett Gates, Huffman-Hargrave

Assistant Coach of the Year: Ed Dyer, WO-S

Referee of the Year: Ricky Prine

Media Person of the Year: Heather Healy

Trainer of the Year: J.B. Ashby, Kelly