Local gridders make Academic All-State

Published 10:48 am Monday, December 9, 2019

Several local football players were selected to the Texas High School Coaches Association Academic All-State Football Team.

To be nominated for Academic All-State, a student must be: an athlete or student trainer in good standing with the team; be of good moral character; a senior; have an overall grade-point average of 92 or above.

Collecting First Team All-State honors was West Orange-Stark’s Steven Wilkerson.

Nabbing Second Team All-State honors were Little Cypress-Mauriceville’s Matthew Lopez and Max Greer; Bridge City’s Jake Potter; Orangefield’s Kolby Woods; and WO-S’ Terry Harris.

Making Honorable Mention All-State were Bridge City’s Josh Fuselier and Trent Roccaforte; LC-M’s Ethan McCollum; Kyle White; Landon Bearden and Tyler Rhodes; and Orangefield’s Kadeon Evans; Connor Tait; Clayson Choate; Cade Kile and Heston Puckett.



Here is Academic All-District 11-4A Division II Football Team that features plenty of Bridge City Cardinals and Little Cypress-Mauriceville Bears:


Jake Potter; Jackson Tims; Josh Fuselier; Bryce Miller; Rylan Ply; George Fleming; Garrett Ashworth; Trent Roccaforte; Colby Collins; Ethan Oceguera; Dorian Pruitt; Julian Dillow; Hunter Bellanger


Timothy Bahl; Max Greer; Tyler Rhodes; Kyle White; Ethan McCollum; Matthew Lopez; Robby Wedel; Kyle Roe; Chris Cast


Garrett Halbrooks; Gavin Bragg; Justin Fields; Justin Shively; Peyton Pierson; Camren Jefferson; AJ San Miguel; Jackson Landry; Jackson Kent; Grant Cox; Noah Zamora; Evan Barrow; Wyatt Greer; Josh Ward; Hunter Andrukitis; Tyler Williams; Garrett Sweeny; Dallas McNeal; Caleb Pierson;Zach Lang; Gavin Ketterer; Will Allen; Jacob Watson; Juston O’Neal; Wyatt Kasper; Ethan Miller; Zach Pitts; Luke Thomas; Micah Hanna


Debrian Rains; Damian Ruiz; Noah Hargraves; Caleb Gann; Nigel Henderson; Becket Long; Ravis Wallace.


Ismael Reyes; Joe Withers; Sage Jones; Jason Coffey; Cole White.

James Carr; Patrick Leach; Dylan Matthews; Tyler Anderson; Logan Brown; Austin Elliott; McCray Fails; Marcos Garcia; Caleb Groh; Andrew Hernandez; Jagger Kennedy; James Key; Davin McGraw; Lucas Morris; Anthony Okonski; Andrew Vazquez; Nick Johnson; Zane Obregon.