BC’s Shaw, OF’s Helm win Miller CC event

Published 8:51 am Monday, August 26, 2019

VIDOR – Cross Country runners were busy Saturday competing in the Rick Miller Invitational hosting by the Bridge City Cross Country Team.

In the boys 4A and Under Division, Bridge City’s Caden Shaw covered the 5000-meter course in 18 minutes, 8.39 seconds to capture first place.

In the Girls 4A and Under Division, Orangefield’s Maddison Helm shown that she has already regained her form after an injury kept her out of track season last spring, as she won the two-mile course in 12:21.86.

The Bridge City girls won the 4A and Under team title while the Silsbee boys took the boys division with Bridge City finishing a close second.

In the girls 4A and Under Division, Bridge City’s Kaylen Smith was second with a 12:35.77 followed by teammates Erika Needham (sixth, 13:42.01), Ashlyn Dunigan (13th, 14:19.15), Brooklin Sheffield (14th, 14:33.04), Kaelyn Guillory (22nd, 15:03.89), and Iris Lobatos (23rd, 15:06.57).

Orangefield’s Cadence Harelson was fourth with a 13:13.85 followed by teammates Draven Crochet (17th, 14:41.41), Katelynn Helm (18th, 14:43.04), Gracie Castro (30th, 16:25.33), Kira Merendino (35th, 17:52.95) and Melayni Wilson (43rd, 20:58.90).

Anabelle Fischer paced the LC-M girls, placing ninth with a 14:14.37. She was followed by teammates Robyn Courmier (10th, 14:16.29), Miranda Keltz (32nd, 17:28.39) and Brice Martin (40th, 19:08.40).

On the boys side, Bridge City’s Kade Garlaska was eighth with a time of 20:41.66 followed by teammates Zach Graham (15th, 21:25.18), Kyler Young (17th, 21:51.94), and Alex Nieto (19th, 21:54.68).

Bryce Moore led Orangefield, finishing 10th with a 20:48.93. He was followed by teammates Dylan Wells (14th, 21:24.51), Brayden Babin (33rd, 23:25.49), Alfredo Arzola (35th, 23:35.02), Leyton Loft (36th, 23:57.10), Tanner Sullivan (42nd, 24:55.31), Kevin Luong (46th, 26:23.64), Preston Brister (50th, 28:50.15) and Brayden Trammell (51st, 28:51.25).

Blake Marshall led LC-M, placing 23rd with a 22:19.69. He was followed by teammates Chase Fischer (24th, 22:21.03) and Ryan Foreman (32nd, 23:20.48).

In the boys 5A and above division, Nederland’s Blake Mortera won with a time of 18:13.83.

Mary Kathryn Gibson took the girls division with a sizzling 11:45.76.