Local United Steel Workers 391 award two scholarships

Published 12:00 am Saturday, June 29, 2019

By Dawn Burleigh

The Orange Leader


Two local young men were the first scholarships from United Steel Workers 13 local 391.

Stephen Louviere III, an Evadale High School graduate, was awarded $2,000 Vocational Scholarship as well as a President’s Award from the union. Louviere plans to join I.B.E.W. Local 479 as he works towards his goal of owning his own business as an electrician.

Stephen Louviere III, right, accepts a $2,000 Vocational Scholarship from USW 13-391 Scholarship Committee Chairman Stephen Louviere Jr. Louviere also received a President’s Award.

Caden Browning, a Deweyville High School graduate, was awarded a $1,000 Academic Scholarship and a Certificate of Excellence. The scholarship will help bring him one step closer towards his plans for a medical career. He will attend LeTourneau University in the fall.

Caden Browning, right, accepts a Certificate of Excellence from USW 13-391 Scholarship Board Member Josh Aldridge. Browning also received a $1,000 Academic Scholarship.

The union voted to start the scholarship fund a year ago as a way to help out locally.

“We have donated to the national scholarship when Steve [Louviere Jr.] and Josh [Aldridge] asked ‘what about our local’?” USW President Gary Gordon said. “I was all for it.”

Gordon added the local union was actively involved with many ways to help better the community.

“It is a great opportunity to help out,” Scholarship Board Member Josh Aldridge said. “I did not have to even think twice. A little help goes a long way, especially the parents.”

Seeing an opportunity to do give back to the community is one reason Scholarship Committee Chairman Stephen Louviere Jr. made a suggestion for the union to have a scholarship fund.

“These young men applied and worked for these scholarships,” Louviere said. “I am proud of what they are doing and overcoming overwhelming situations. They are making bigger strides todays.”

The Scholarship Committee consisted of Chairman Stephen Louviere Jr., and Board Members Josh Aldridge and Chris Lejune.