Little Cypress-Mauriceville recognizes staff members

Published 12:09 pm Thursday, June 27, 2019

To The Leader


During the last two weeks of school, administrators traveled to campuses and departments to recognize retirees, Teachers of the Year, Paraprofessionals of the Year and Departmental Employees of the year. They also recognized those receiving their service awards for achieving years of service in 5-year increments.

Topping the list of service award recipients were Bobby Telles and Bill Tinsley with 35 years in maintenance and Carolyn LeBlanc with 35 years in Child Nutrition. LeBlanc also retired this year.  Other retirees from the High School were Michael Platt with 10 years and Rhonda Brown with 15 years; from Little Cypress Intermediate Ruth Vinson has twelve years and Melanie Drake with 23 years; Barbara Richard with 32 years from Little Cypress Junior High; Judy Will from Maintenance had 22 years; Tracey Stidham from Mauriceville Middle with 31 years; and Lisa Martin with MVE had 29 years.

Paraprofessionals included Scott Potter, who was selected as the departmental representative; Bill Tinsley was selected by Maintenance, Liz Taylor is the Child Nutrition Employee of the Year, Donna Hendricks with Mauriceville Elementary, Nelda Burton represented Mauriceville Middle, Ellen Reed with Little Cypress Elementary, Matilda Sonnier with Little Cypress Intermediate, Rebekah Fry with Little Cypress Junior High and Toni Warnell at LCM High School.

The District Teachers of the Year (ToY) are selected from the campus applicants, which are chosen by their peers. This year’s winners are Elementary ToY Vicky Holland of LCI and LCMHS’s Ricky Ryan is Secondary ToY. Other ToYs representing each campus are Tania Jackson – MVE, Kimberly Huckaby – MMS, Jessica Crowell – LCE, and Jennifer Knapp – LCJH.

The District ToY applications are judged by three educators not connected to LCMCISD in any way. Applications for the District Teachers of the Year are being adjudicated now at Region 5 and the winners for Region 5 will be submitted to the contest for State ToY.