WO-S grad Anderson 1 of 4 Cowboys to make All-Louisiana Team

Published 9:14 am Tuesday, June 25, 2019

LAKE CHARLES – McNeese baseball added to its fantastic season with four Cowboys being named to the All-Louisiana first and second Teams – Nate Fisbeck first team at second base; pitchers Aidan Anderson, from West Orange-Stark, and Will Dion along with third designated hitter Clayton Rasbeary with second team honors as the units were released by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association (LSWA) over the weekend.

Fisbeck, a native of The Woodlands, Texas lead the Cowboys in every offensive category and broke a single season record for most at-bats.

In 2019, Fisbeck, who also earned second team All-Southland Conference and ABCA Central Region honors, led the Cowboys with a .304 batting average, 78 hits, 21 doubles, 12 home runs, 50 RBI, a .541 slugging percentage, and a .378 on-base percentage.

In his final season with the Cowboys, Anderson made 27 appearances, both as a starter and a reliever, struck out 66 batters, had a complete game, and finished with a 3.29 ERA.

In the Conference Tournament, Anderson threw a 133 pitch complete game to give the Cowboys a 2-1 victory over Incarnate Word in the opening round and then pitched 3.2 innings of relief in the Conference Championship game against Central Arkansas to help secure two trophies, the Championship trophy and the Conference Tournament MVP trophy.

All-American Freshman Will Dion continues to rack up accolades after an unbelievable first season with the Cowboys.

Dion, a Sulphur High graduate, came to McNeese as a walk-on and became one of the best pitchers on the team from early on in the 2019 season.

With his team leading 29 appearances this season, he finished with a 1.98 ERA, a perfect 5-0 record, earned six saves, allowed only 13 runs with 11 being earned, struck out 62 batters, and held opposing batters to a mere .155 batting average.

Rasbeary, a native of Rockwall, Texas, added this honor to his trophy case after being the only Cowboy named to the Southland Conference First Team.

In his first season with the Cowboys, Rasbeary started and finished the season with a power bat. In his first series of the season against UTSA, he hit three home runs for seven RBIs and in his last series of the regular against HBU this past weekend he hit two grand slams for eight RBIs.

He played in 54 of the 55 games this season and had a hit or reached base in 48 of those 54 games. He also finished the season with a team leading .312 batting average, tied for first in home runs and RBIs with 10 and 46, second in hits with 64, and a slugging percentage of .532.

Southern’s coach Kerrick Jackson was named the state’s coach of the year while third baseman Kody Hoese picked up hitter of the year honors and outfielder Trent Tinglestad newcomer of the year. Southeastern Louisiana’s Corey Gaconi earned pitcher of the year honors; and Hudson Haskin of Tulane picked up the freshman of the year award.


HITTER OF THE YEAR – Kody Hoese, Tulane

PITCHER OF THE YEAR – Corey Gaconi, Southeastern Louisiana

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR – Trent Tingelstad, ULM

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR – Hudson Haskin, Tulane

COACH OF THE YEAR – Kerrick Jackson, Southern


P- Corey Gaconi, Southeastern Louisiana – 7-3, 2.57 ERA; Southland Pitcher of the Year

P- Nathan Jones, Northwestern State – 7-4, 2.78 ERA; Second-Team All-Southland Conference

P- Reeves Martin, New Orleans – 4-0, 1.03 ERA, 14 Saves; Third-Team All-America

P- Matt Miller, Louisiana Tech – 6-1, 3.40 ERA; Second-Team All-Conference USA

C- Saul Garza, LSU – .309, 5 HR, 27 RBI; SEC All-Tournament Team

1B- Mason Mallard, Louisiana Tech – .374, 7 HR, 34 RBI; First Team All-Conference USA

2B- Nate Fisbeck – McNeese – .304, 12 HR, 50 RBI; Second-Team All-Southland Conference

3B- Kody Hoese, Tulane – .391, 23 HR, 61 RBI; American Athletic Conference Player of the Year

SS- Josh Smith, LSU – .346, 9 HR, 41 RBI; SEC All-Tournament Team

OF- Antoine Duplantis, LSU – .319, 11 HR, 64 RBI; Second-Team All-SEC; All-time LSU hits leader

OF- Hudson Haskin, Tulane – .372, 10 HR, 52 RBI; Collegiate Baseball Freshman All-American

OF- Javeyan Williams, Southern – .404, 4 HR, 44 RBI; First-Team All-SWAC

UTL- Logan Constantine, LSU Alexandria – .377, 7 HR, 43 RBI; All-Red River Athletic Conference First Team

DH- Todd Lott, Louisiana – .332, 8 HR, 48 RBI; First Team All-Sun Belt Conference


P- Aidan Anderson, McNeese – 7-6, 3.29 ERA; SLC Tournament MVP

P- Will Dion, McNeese – 5-0, 1.98 ERA, 6 SV; Second-Team NCBWA Freshman All-America

P- Dane Dixon, LSU Eunice – 13-0, 2.28 ERA; All-Region 23 First Team

P- Clayton Doyle, LSU Alexandria – 10-3, 4.67 ERA; NAIA Honorable Mention All-America

C- Adrian Minjares, Bossier Parish CC – .411, 3 HR, 24 RBI; First-Team All-Region XIV

1B- Jordan Trahan, LSU Shreveport – .361, 17 HR, 70 RBI; NAIA Honorable Mention All-America

2B- Hunter Kasuls, Louisiana – .338, 7 HR, 38 RBI

3B- Chad Bell, ULM – .333, 21 HR, 61 RBI; First Team All-Sun Belt Conference

SS- Hayden Cantrelle, Louisiana – .309, 9 HR, 31 RBI; First Team All-Sun Belt Conference Team

OF- Trent Tingelstad, ULM – .353, 7 HR, 46 RBI

OF- Zach Watson, LSU – .310, 7 HR, 41 RBI; 2019 All-SEC Defensive Team

OF- Tristan Welch, LSU Eunice – .380, 5 HR, 73 RBI; 2019 All-Region 23 First-Team

UTL- Andrew Beesley, ULM – .329, 3 HR, 37 RBI; Second Team All-Sun Belt Conference

DH- Clayton Rasbeary, McNeese – .304, 10 HR, 49 RBI; First-team All-Southland Conference