West Orange – Cove announces Employees of the Year

Published 8:00 am Monday, June 24, 2019

To The Leader

West Orange-Cove CISD recognized outstanding employees during a retirement and recognition dinner at the WO-C Educational Service Center at the end of May.

Campus Teachers of the Year for the 2018-2019 school year were recognized by principals. Teacher honorees were Michael Washburn (WOS High School), Shannon Bennett (WOS Elementary), Kathryn Knobloch (North Early Learning Center), and Ulysses Hobbs, Jr. (WOS Middle School).

Campus Paraprofessionals of the Year were recognized by principals, as well. They were Judy Turner (WOS High School Secretary), Latrisha Morris (WOS Elementary Attendance Clerk), Ella Barlow (North Early Learning Center Classroom Aide), and Enza Joseph (WOS Middle School Front Desk Clerk).

Additionally, Department Staff Members of the Year were recognized by directors. They were Aaron Spell (Education Service Center, Technology Network Administrator), Phyllis Thibodeaux (Buildings & Grounds, WOS Elementary Head Custodian), Diane Colbert (Child Nutrition, WOS Elementary), and Joyce Perry (Transportation, Bus Driver).

Twelve retirees were recognized by their department director(s) or principal(s). They were Robin Anderson, Irene Ashton, Jack Spears, Marianna Theriot, Wanda Peveto, Shelia Navarre, Gracie Richard, Dianne Winn, Lou Jordan, Beverly Robinson, Karen Ford, and Wilt Alexander. This group or retirees includes staff members from every campus, as well as the departments of Transportation, Child Nutrition, and Buildings & Grounds. Collectively, they represent more than 283 years of service to students.

Additionally, 2019 DISTRICT Employees of the Year were announced at the dinner. Kathryn Knobloch (North Early Learning Center/Head Start) is the WOCCISD Teacher of the Year, Phyllis Thibodeaux (WO-S Elementary/Building & Grounds) is the Auxiliary Staff Member of the Year, and Ella Barlow (North ELC/Classroom Aide) is the WOCCISD Paraprofessional of the Year.

Mrs. Knobloch will represent the district in the Region V Education Service Center Teacher of the Year Contest.