LCM Board recognizes students and outgoing Trustees

Published 10:00 am Tuesday, May 21, 2019

To The Leader


The Little Cypress-Mauriceville Board of Trustees convened on Monday evening and began the meeting with recognition of students.

The Mauriceville and Little Cypress Intermediate Schools’ Student Councils were recognized for being named Honor Council’s by the National Association of Elementary School Principals. This is the sixth consecutive year that MVE has received the recognition and the fourth consecutive year for LCI.

Photos courtesy of Little Cypress-Mauriceville ISD Mauriceville Elementary Student Council officers, from left, Addison Ezernack, Derek Lopez, Noah Davis, Kolbi Fountain, and Amelia Miller. Back row, Principal Carie Broussard and sponsor Dawn Garrett.

The entire Band program has had had another stellar year. The Wind Ensemble and Symphonic bands at LCM High School and the Mauriceville and Little Cypress Junior High Bands all received Sweepstakes trophies in Concert and Sight-Reading competition. MMS received all 1’s (Superior) from all six judges. Jose Ochoa is the Director of Bands for LCM Schools, Kathy Wilson, and Justin Hargraves are the directors at Mauriceville Middle School, Daniel Wilhelm and Jessie Winecoff are directors at Little Cypress Junior High.

The Chancel Choir, under the direction of Nikki Hanson also brought home the Sweepstakes for Concert and Sight-Reading.

Photos courtesy of Little Cypress-Mauriceville ISD (Team Force – ) Joey Guin, Danny Placette, Kallie McNabb, Cody Janice and MacCoy Head of Team Force.

Students from LCM High School’s Team Force competed in the State Special Olympics earlier this month. The unified team competed in 4 events: 100 m dash, 200 m dash, 4×100 relay, and mini-javelin throw.  Their scores are totaled together for each event…like a quadrathlon.  They receive one award for their score.  Unified Sports joins people with and without intellectual disabilities on the same team. Team Force won the gold in the Unified Champion School category for the state of Texas. Kallie McNabb competed individually in the female 16-21 division. Her events were awarded separately.  She received a 6th place ribbon for the 100 m dash, bronze for the 200 m dash, and silver for the mini-javelin throw.

Photos courtesy of Little Cypress-Mauriceville ISD Little Cypress Intermediate Student Council officers from left, Alyssa Longron, Bay Reynolds, Eden Frenzel, Annabelle Claybar, and Kendra Girndt with Principal Michael Ridout and sponsor April Purgahn.

Coach Brett Nicholson introduced the doubles team of Gavin Fountain and Jaxon Collier, who competed in Regionals at Bryan High School in April. Athletic Director, Randy Crouch recognized Kollyn Brown and Eli Peveto, two standouts in track and field this year. Kollyn reached Regionals in the shot put and Eli won silver medals for both the 1600m and the 3200m at State.

Coach Crouch also introduced Coach Dena Adkins, whose softball team earned the District title and Coach Adkins was named Softball Coach of the Year for District 22-4A.

Photos courtesy of Little Cypress-Mauriceville ISD (LCM High School Academic UIL -) Representatives of the LCMHS Academic Team are, from left, Tyler Comeaux, Aidon Watson, Elizabeth Johns, Sukhjot Singh and coach Ricky Ryan.

The UIL Academic Team won the District Title for the 7th consecutive year. They also took Regionals with 319 points, eclipsing the second place team with 167.5. LCM’s Academic Team is currently ranked 8th Place in the State. The final standings will be determined at the end of May when all UIL competitions are complete.

Superintendent Stacey Brister also recognized Rex Peveto and Ray Rogers, who are both rotating off of the Board this year, thanking them for their years of service to the students, staff, and community of LCM.