WO-S’ Basinger now a SETCA Hall of Honor member

Published 9:18 am Monday, January 28, 2019

A superb coach and educator, West Orange-Stark’s Del Basinger was inducted in the Southeast Texas Coaches Association Hall of Honor Saturday at the annual SETCA Coaches Banquet.

Basinger has been a major asset at WO-S on the field and in the classroom.

He has been an excellent assistant football coach and assistant track coach over the years and his students have excelled in his science classes.

Basinger spent many years doing the same thing in Beaumont before moving over to the WO-S district.

Basinger was one of six that were inducted into the Hall of Honor.

The others include Newton head football coach W.T. Johnston.

Johnston just led Newton to back-to-back Class 3A Division II State Championships.

Other honored included Michael (M.J.) Mitchell, Bobby McGallion, George Eskue and Shawn Klinger.

The following coaches were named Coaches of the Year in their respective sports:


Eric Peevey – West Brook

Volleyball: Melissa Story – Vidor

Girls Cross Country: Stephanie Williams – Orangefield

Boys Cross Country: Dena Adkins – Little Cypress-Mauriceville

Boys Basketball: Joe Sigler – Silsbee

Girls Basketball: Michelle Trotter – Crosby

Baseball: Stephen Westbrook – Jasper

Softball: Karen Slack – Liberty

Boys Golf: Richard Miles – Barbers Hill

Girls Golf: Joey Butcha – Huffman

Boys Tennis: Matt DeYoung – East Chambers

Girls Tennis: Ismael Dutchover – Goose Creek Memorial

Boys Powerlifting: Randall Reich – Jasper

Girls Powerlifting: George Taylor – Goose Creek Memorial

Boys Soccer: Chris McDermand – Huffman

Girls Soccer: Gabby Carter – Jasper

Boys Track: Chris Fontenot – East Chambers

Girls Track: Brittany Granger – Hardin-Jefferson

Assistant Coach of the Year: Heath Gerlufsen: West Brook

Referee of the Year: Terry Landry,
Van Thomas

Media Person of the Year: Lance Edwards