Girls hoop season nears, here are the 2018-19 schedules

Published 2:46 pm Wednesday, October 24, 2018

The girls high school basketball season is right around the corner as teams will scrimmage next week and will crank up the season the week of Nov. 5.

There are definitely a few changes with a couple new head coaches and teams facing new district opponents.

The Orangefield Lady Bobcats, who went a strong 26-10 last year in the 4A ranks, have moved down to the 3A ranks and will compete in a tough District 22-3A.

Coach Jennifer Willis welcomes back several standouts including Faith Fregia, the MVP of the All-Leader Team last season, and Emmi Lummus, the Leader Team’s Defensive MVP.

The Lady Bobcats will compete in 22-3A against the likes of Anahuac, Buna, Hardin, Kirbyville, Kountze, Warren and East Chambers.

There will be two new head coaches in Little Cypress-Mauriceville and Bridge City.

Eddie Michalko will take over the LC-M Lady Bear program with an excellent resume.

Coach Michalko has 37 years of experience, with a record of 1.020 wins and 355 losses. He has won four state championships at Hackberry High School in Louisiana and been state runner-up four times at Lacassine High School, also in Louisiana.

Michalko, whose record includes 18 State Quarter Finalists, is coming to LCM from East Chambers, where his accomplishments include district titles in 2015, 2016 and 2018. The Lady Bears made the playoffs as the fourth-place team a season ago.

Lance Robertson will take over the Bridge City Lady Cardinals. He coached the Lady Cardinals late last season as they made the playoffs as the third-place team and defeated Lufkin Hudson in bidistrict before bowing out to a Houston Wheatley team that was ranked No. 4 in the state in the area round.

The West Orange-Stark Lady Mustangs will be led by Kandice Williams again. The Lady Mustangs will look to improve on last year’s 1-9 district mark.

The new district 22-4A will definitely have formidable teams for the Lady Bears, Cardinals and Mustangs to face. Powerhouse Hardin-Jefferson will enter the district fray now along with Lumberton, who was so solid in the 5A ranks for years. Then there is the return of district champion Silsbee along with Hamshire-Fannett.

LC-M will open its season Nov. 5 when the Lady Bears visit Port Neches-Groves. On Nov. 6 Bridge City will visit Tarkington, Orangefield will host Lumberton, and WO-S will visit West Brook.



Nov. 6: at Tarkington

Nov. 8: at Evadale

Nov. 15-17: at Nederland Tournament

Nov. 19: at Buna

Nov. 27: East Chambers

Nov. 29-Dec. 1: at Deweyville Tournament

Dec. 4: at Deweyville

Dec. 7: Kelly

Dec. 14: WO-S*

Dec. 18: Hamshire-Fannett*

Dec. 21: at Silsbee*

Dec. 27-29: at East Chambers Tournament

Jan. 4: Hardin-Jefferson*

Jan. 8: at LC-M*

Jan. 11: Lumberton*

Jan. 18: at WO-S*

Jan. 22: at Hamshire-Fannett*

Jan. 25: Silsbee*

Jan. 29: at Hardin-Jefferson*

Feb. 1: LC-M*

Feb. 5: at Lumberton*



Nov. 5: at PN-G

Nov. 16: East Chambers

Nov. 19: at Nederland

Nov. 20: at Kountze

Nov. 27: at Legacy Christian

Nov. 29-Dec. 1: at Evadale Tournament

Dec. 4: Vidor

Dec. 6-8: at Anahuac Tournament

Dec. 11: at Silsbee*

Dec. 14: at Hamshire-Fannett*

Dec. 18: Hardin-Jefferson*

Dec. 21: Evadale

Dec. 27-29: at East Chambers Tournament

Jan. 4: at Lumberton*

Jan. 8: Bridge City*

Jan. 11: at WO-S*

Jan. 15: Silsbee*

Jan. 18: Hamshire-Fannett*

Jan. 22: at Hardin-Jefferson*

Jan. 29: Lumberton*

Feb. 1: at Bridge City*

Feb. 5: WO-S*



Nov. 6: Lumberton

Nov. 8-10: at Lumberton Tournament

Nov. 13: West Brook

Nov. 16: Silsbee

Nov. 19: Deweyville

Nov. 20: at PN-G

Nov. 26: Vidor

Dec. 6-8: Orangefield Tournament

Dec. 11: Hardin*

Dec. 14: at Kirbyville*

Dec. 18: East Chambers*

Dec. 27-29: at Aggieland Tournament

Jan. 2: at Warren*

Jan. 4: Kountze*

Jan. 8: at Anahuac*

Jan. 11: Buna*

Jan. 15: at Hardin*

Jan. 18: Kirbyville*

Jan. 22: at East Chambers*

Jan. 25: Warren*

Jan. 29: at Kountze*

Feb. 1: Anahuac*

Feb. 5: at Buna*



Nov. 6: at West Brook

Nov. 9: at PN-G

Nov. 13: Woodville

Nov. 15-17: at Nederland Tournament

Nov. 20: Jasper

Nov. 27: Evadale

Nov. 29-Dec. 1: at Evadale Tournament

Dec. 4: Kelly

Dec. 6-8: at Orangefield Tournament

Dec. 11: at Lumberton*

Dec. 14: Bridge City*

Dec. 21: at Silsbee*

Jan. 4: Hamshire-Fannett*

Jan. 8: at Hardin-Jefferson*

Jan. 11: LC-M*

Jan. 15: Lumberton*

Jan. 18: at Bridge City*

Jan. 25: Silsbee*

Jan. 29: at Hamshire-Fannett*

Feb. 1: Hardin-Jefferson*

Feb. 5: at LC-M*