Lady Bobcats’ Helm duo punch in State CC tickets

Published 1:14 pm Monday, October 22, 2018

HUNTSVILLE — The Orangfield sister duo of Maddison and Katelyn Helm both qualified for the Class 3A State Cross Country Championships by  placing second and sixth respectively at the 3A Region III Championships held at Sam Houston State University’s Kate-Barr Ross Park Monday.

Maddison Helm ran the two-mile course in a sizzling 12:18.6 to grab her second-place finish. Little River Academy’s Jenna Brazeal took first with a time of 12:10.4. Katelyn Hamm earned a strong sixth-place finish among 162 runners, finishing with a time of 12:37.1.

Other Lady Bobcats that ran at regionals included Draven Crochet (91st, 15:06.5), Bailee Click (94th, 15:08.4), Mackenzie Davis (132nd, 15:55.0), Victoria Welch (136th, 16:07.5) and Adrianna Francis (150th, 17:15.3).

The Lady Bobcats finished in 10th-place overall as a team among 21 squads, with 280 points. Eustace won the team title with 77 points.

In the Boys 3A 5K race, Orangefield freshman Payton Wrinkle finished a solid 16th overall among 170 runners by running a 18:04.0. He was followed by teammates Cody Strause (82nd, 20:06.2), Bryce Moore (86th, 20:17.1), Dylan Wells (100th, 20:46.7), Dakota Williford (117th, 21:14.9), Brandon Scogin (126th, 21:41.5), and Brayden Babin (129th, 21:49.7). The Bobcat boys finished 14th overall out of 23 teams with 361 points. Eustace won the team title with 32 points and Eustace’s Dalton Page won the individual title (17:14.4), barely nipping fellow teammate Nicholas Westbrook, who was second with a 17:16.5.

In the Class 4A girls 3,200-meter race Lufkin Hudson’

S Kayleigh Wagnon won with a time of 12:19.5 Fairfield won the team title with 50 points as 23 teams were in the field.

The Bridge City Lady Cardinals finished 13th overall with 322 points.

Kaylen Smith, the District 22-4A champion, paced the Lady Cardinals with a 13th-place time of 12:58.6. She was followed by teammates Carla Rubio (44th, 14:02.8), Brooklin Sheffield (46th, 14:03.7), Riley Thomason (122nd, 15:47.3), Iris Lobatos (125th, 15:54.0) and Ashlyn Dunigan (126th, 15:56.4).

LC-M’s Robyn Cormier placed 75th with a time of 14:39.9.