Early voting for General Election, School Bond begin Monday

Published 3:06 pm Saturday, October 20, 2018

By Dawn Burleigh

The Orange Leader


If you have made up your mind on how you want to vote, the polls will be open at 8 a.m. Monday, Oct. 22.

New names will be on the ballot as the Libertarian party is now included.

Early Voting for the General Election will take place at Orange Public Library located at 220 North 5th Street in Orange, Bridge City Public Works Building located at 220 Nitsche in Bridge City, Mauriceville Volunteer Fire Department located at 10691 North Hwy. 62 in Mauriceville and Raymond Gould Community Center located at 385 Claiborne in Vidor.

The polls will be open from 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. Mon. Oct. 22 – Sat. Oct. 27 and Mon. Oct. 29 – Nov. 2. On Tuesdays, Oct. 23 and Oct. 30 the polls will have extended hours and be open from 8 a.m. – 7 p.m.

For the West Orange Cove Consolidated Independent School District (WOCCISD) Bond Election, early voting will take place at the Orange Public Library during the same times as the General Election voting.

General Election and the WOCCISD Bond Election is Tuesday, Nov. 6, 2018.

Sample ballots can be found online at orangeleader.com, or by clicking the link at the bottom.

Candidates are:

United States Senator

  • REP   Ted Cruz
  • DEM  Beto O’Rourke
  • LIB    Neal M. Dikeman

United States Representative, District 36

  • REP   Brian Babin
  • DEM  Dayna Steele

Governor of Texas

  • REP   Greg Abbott
  • DEM  Lupe Valdez
  • LIB    Mark Jay Tippetts

Lieutenant Governor of Texas

  • REP   Dan Patrick
  • DEM  Mike Collier
  • LIB    Kerry Douglas McKennon

Attorney General of Texas

  • REP   Ken Paxton
  • DEM  Justin Nelson
  • LIB    Michael Ray Harris

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

  • REP   Glenn Hegar
  • DEM  Joi Chevalier
  • LIB    Ben Sanders

Texas Commissioner of the General Land Office

  • REP   George P. Bush
  • DEM  Miguel Suazo
  • LIB    Matt Pina

Texas Commissioner of Agriculture

  • REP   Sid Miller
  • DEM  Kim Olson
  • LIB    Richard Carpenter

Texas Railroad Commissioner

  • REP   Christi Craddick
  • DEM  Roman McAllen
  • LIB    Mike Wright

Justice, Texas Supreme Court, Place 2

  • REP   Jimmy Blacklock
  • DEM  Steven Kirkland

Justice, Texas Supreme Court, Place 4

  • REP   John Devine
  • DEM  R.K. Sandill

Justice, Texas Supreme Court, Place 6

  • REP   Jeff Brown
  • DEM  Kathy Cheng

Presiding Judge,  Texas Court
of Criminal Appeals

  • REP   Sharon Keller
  • DEM  Maria T. (Terri) Jackson
  • LIB    William Bryan Strange III

Judge, Texas Court of Criminal Appeals Place 7

  • REP   Barbara Parker Hervey
  • DEM  Ramona Franklin

Judge, Texas Court of Criminal Appeals Place 8

  • REP   Michelle Slaughter
  • LIB    Mark Ash

Member, Texas State Board of Education,
District 7

  • REP   Matt Robinson
  • DEM  Elizabeth “Eliz” Markowitz

Texas State Senator, District 3

  • REP   Robert Nichols
  • DEM  Shirley Layton
  • LIB    Bruce Quarles

Texas State Representative District 21

  • REP   Dade Phelan

Justice, 9th Court of Appeals District,
Place 3

  • REP   Leanne Johnson

Justice, 9th Court of Appeals District,
Place 4

  • REP   Hollis Horton

District Judge, 260th Judicial District

  • REP   Steven Parkhurst

Orange County Judge

  • REP   Dean T. Crooks

Judge, Orange County Court-at-Law

  • REP   Mandy White-Rogers

Orange County District Clerk

  • REP   Vickie Edgerly

Orange County Clerk

  • REP   Brandy Robertson

Orange County Treasurer

  • REP   Christy Khoury

Orange County Commissioner Pct.2

  • REP   Theresa Adams Beauchamp
  • DEM  Deborah Mitchell

Orange County Commissioner Pct.4

  • REP   Robert Viator

Justice of the Peace Pct.1

  • REP   Hershel Stagner, Jr.
  • DEM  Gail Barnett

Justice of the Peace Pct.2

  • REP   Chad Jenkins

Justice of the Peace Pct.3

  • REP   Joy Dubose-Simonton

Justice of the Peace Pct.

  • REP   Rodney Price

Sample Ballots

General Ballot, Precinct 1

General Ballot, Precinct 2

General Ballot, Precinct 3

General Ballot, Precinct 4

WOCCISD Bond 11.18