Orangefield’s Helm nets Cardinal CC title

Published 10:50 am Tuesday, September 4, 2018

VIDOR- The Bridge City Cardinal cross country teams played host to the Cardinals Classic Cross Country Meet at Claiborne Park Saturday.

In the girls Class 4A and under 3,200 meter jaunt through the park, Orangefield’s Maddison Helm took first-place going away with a time of 12:27.57 while her sister Katelynn Helm was third with a 14:08.42 clocking. Bridge City’s Kaylen Smith was second with a 14:02.59.

Smith was followed by teammates Brooklin Sheffield (11th, 15:06.43), Ashlyn Dunigan (15:09.23), Riley Thomason (16th, 15:58.30) and Iris Lobatos (53rd, 18:30.66.).

Behind the Helm sisters for Orangefield were Draven Crochet (27th, 16:37.56), Bailee Click (36th, 16:56.93), Mackenzie Davis (45th, 17:39.72), Adriana Francis (52nd, 18:22.48), McClane Downs (54th, 19:11.63), Cheyenne Durio (59th, 20:47.34) and Camryn Copeland (61st, 23:00.00).

Robyn Cormier paced Little Cypress-Mauriceville, placing 10th with a 15:00.89). She was followed by teammates Jayden Wilson (23rd, 16:16.09) and Brice Martin (41st, 17:07.52).

Lumberton won the 4A and under girls team crown with 55 points followed by Bridge City (73), Hamshire-Fannett (83), Orangefield (90), Liberty (97), Silsbee (126) and Woodville (152).

In the boys Class 4A and under division, Silsbee’s David Wright won over the 5,000-meter course with a time of 18:03.39.

Orangefield’s Payton Wrinkle was a solid second with a clocking of 18:30.12. Bobcat teammates behind Wrinkle included Cody Strause (23rd, 21:06.28), Dylan Wells (29th, 22:23.72), Brandon Scogin (30th, 22:26.28), Diego Baca (33rd, 22:53.55), Bryce Moore (35th, 23:10.80), Brayden Babin (40th, 23:44.99), and Jacob Chapman (46th, 24:43.57).

Caden Shaw led Bridge City, placing 16th with a 19:51.44. He was followed by teammates Nathan Rhodes (21st, 20:43.84), Adrian Draughn (22nd, 20:44.09), Ethan Borque (25th, 21:13.89), and Kyler Young (55th, 29:54.42).

Blake Marshall led LC-M, finishing 24th with a time of 21:13.40. He was followed by teammates Chase Fisher (31st, 22:27.26), Stephen Kusek (39th, 23:30.59), Matthew Erb (47th, 25:24.40), Cameron Smith (50th, 26:08.12) and Dillen Martin (54th, 28:27.50).

Silsbee won the team title with 46 points followed by Barbers Hill (50), Orangefield (105), Hardin-Jefferson (115), Bridge City (121), Hamshire-Fannett (122), Tarkington (156) and LC-M (170).

LC-M’s top two runners, Eli Peveto and Trevor Turner both competed at different levels Saturday.

At Claiborne Park Saturday, Turner opted to compete up in the 5A-6A Division and placed a solid 10th with a 18:53.10. Meanwhile, Peveto, who had won the Cardinal Classic the last three years and who is a two-time state qualifier, competed at a meet in Dallas against state and nationally-ranked competition.

Over the 5K course, Peveto ran his second fastest time ever, clocking in at 15:53 to finish 15th out of 256 runners.

At Claiborne Saturday, Nederland’s Mortera won it with a time of 17:23.86. In the girls 5A-6A Division, Dayton’s Anali Torres won with a time of 13:44.50.