Coach Crouch earns another Louisiana Tech honor

Published 12:12 pm Tuesday, June 26, 2018

Little Cypress-Mauriceville Athletic Director and head football coach Randy Crouch recently learned that he will be a part of a special honor at his old “stomping grounds” of Ruston, La.

Louisiana Tech will be honoring the first 50 years of Joe Aillet Stadium when the Bulldogs host Southern Sept. 8 in the home opener and Crouch, who played for the Bulldogs from 1971-74 and made All-Southland Conference at offensive guard in 1974, will be part of the festivities.

As part of the celebration of the half century of action in the stadium, Louisiana Tech will honor the Top 50 Bulldog players to compete at Joe Aillet Stadium as chosen by a combination of fan voting and a committee comprised of former players, coaches and administrators.

Thirty-two of the 50 were part of the All-Century Team released in 2001, which Crouch was on, while an additional 18 were added through a vote by Bulldog fans.

The makeup of the group includes 28 offensive players, 17 defensive players and 5 specialists. Each decade of the stadium’s existence is also well-represented in the prestigious group, including 20 Bulldogs from the first 10 years, seven from the next decade, eight from the third decade, six from the fourth decade and nine from the fifth decade (with some crossover on careers).

The Top 50 players from the first five decades in Joe Aillet Stadium history, include: Doyle Adams, Ron Alexander, Ryan Allen, Larry Anderson, Myron Baker, Mike Barber, Chris Boniol, Josh Bradley, Terry Bradshaw, Vernon Butler, Colby Cameron, Roger Carr, John Causey, Joey Chustz, Randy Crouch, Fred Dean, Kenneth Dixon, Matt Dunigan, Denny Duron, Troy Edwards, Doug Evans, Roland Harper, Carlos Henderson, Walter Johnson, Doug Landry, Phillip Livas, Chad Mackey, Luke McCown, Charles McDaniel, Joe McNeely, Ryan Moats, Quinton Patton, Jerry Pope, Tim Rattay, Chris Richardson, William Roaf, Johnny Robinson, Billy Ryckman, Glenell Sanders, Josh Scobee, Bobby Slaughter, Tommy Spinks, Matt Stover, Trent Taylor, Pat Tilley, Roy Waters, John Henry White, Wenford Wilborn, Tramon Williams and Xavier Woods.