Thibodaux to represent BC in THSBCA All-Star Game

Published 9:51 am Wednesday, May 30, 2018

Bridge City standout catcher Schuyler Thibodaux has been selected to play in the Texas High School Baseball Coaches Association All-Star Class 2A-3A-4A Game to be held Saturday, June 16 at Dell Diamond in Round Rock.

Thibodaux was such a key figure in helping the Cardinals to the playoffs the last four season.

Thibodaux, a McNeese State University signee, had a tremendous senior campaign for long-time Cardinal coach Chad Landry.

He was the Defensive Player of the Year on both the All-District 22-4A All-District Team and the All-Orange Leader Team.

Thibodaux hit .326 with 24 runs batted in, which ranked second on the team. He led the District 22-4A champion Cardinals with 11 doubles.

The 2A-4A All-State Game will be played at 10 a.m. June 16 followed by the 5A-6A All-Star Game at 1 p.m.

Thibodaux will compete for the South Team.

The team will be coached by Big Sandy’s Jacob Hooker, San Antonio Cole’s Rick Mahler and Fredericksburg’s Derrick Dietrich.

The South Team’s pitching staff will consist of Robinson’s Braxton Ashcraft, Woden’s Drew Shiflet, Fredericksburg’s Riggs Threadgill and Nacogdoches Central Heights’ Grayson Rodriguez.

Thibodaux will be joined at catcher by Geo Gate Prep’s Taylor Smith. The first basemen will be Madisonville’s Zach Poe and Bishop’s Matthew Colecio.

The second basemen are Weimer’s Carter Helmcamp and Yoakum’s Denver Evans. The shortstops are Salado’s Jacob Wilk and Marion’s Garrett Corkran. The third basemen are Wimberley’s Jo Jo Weeks and Giddings’ Shelby Becker.

The outfielders consist of Taylor’s Miguel Torres, Jasper’s Reese Durand, Three Rivers’ R.J. Galvan and Fayetteville’s Braden Rohde. At-large selections include Devine’s Connor Schmidt and Falfurrias’ Royce Carrera.

The North squad will be coached by Post’s Jerry Pyles, Wall’s Jason Schneirs and the Monahans’ Brad Harmon.

The North squad’s pitching staff includes Greenwood’s Dawson Merryman, Albany’s Brian Hamilton, Beckville’s Trey Lindsey and New Diana’s Jacob Burton.

The catchers are New Deal’s Brandon Coronado and Bushland’s Colton Moore. The first basemen are Childress’ John Pleming and Floydada’s Alex Glass.

The second basemen are Edgewood’s Trey Erwin and Kilgore’s Ren Reynolds. The shortstops are Pottsboro’s Hunter Watson and White Oak’s Heath Hood and the third basemen are Peaster’s Evan Hafley and Levelland’s Tanner Marrow.

The outfielders consist of Princeton’s Austin Hitchcock, Borden County’s Trace Richey, Melissa’s Tate Whittington and Post’s Kobe Ammons. The at-large players are Kennedale’s Bryce Hackett and Iowa Park’s Derek Hostas.