Public Encouraged to Provide Comments on the Exempt JOHRTS 2019-2022 TIP, the Revised JOHRTS MTP-2040 Amendment #10 in upcoming meetings

Published 10:38 am Wednesday, May 23, 2018

South East Texas Regional Planning Commission (SETRPC) will host a series of public meetings beginning Tuesday, May 29, 2018, providing citizens in Jefferson, Orange and Hardin Counties the opportunity to learn about and comment on the Exempt JOHRTS 2019-2022 TIP and the Revised JOHRTS MTP 2040 Amendment #10.

“This is an opportunity for the public to be directly involved in the process and have their voices heard as we make recommendations to address transportation-related issues that are affecting the southeast Texas region. Public input is an essential part of this process and we want to make sure the needs of our region are properly addressed,” Bob Dickinson, Director of Transportation and Environmental Resources for SETRPC, said.    

The 30-day public comment period is being held May 14 through June 12, 2018. The public is encouraged to attend a meeting or provide written comments by 5 p.m., June 12, 2018. Four public meetings will be held in Port Arthur, Lumberton, Orange, and Beaumont at the following locations:


Tuesday, May 29, 2018 – 3 p.m.

Port Arthur Transit, 344 Procter Street, Port Arthur


Wednesday, May 30, 2018 – 3 p.m.

Lumberton City Hall, 836 North Main Street, Lumberton


Thursday, May 31, 2018 – 3 p.m.

Orange Public Library, 220 5th Street, Orange


Friday, June 1, 2018 – 2 p.m.

Nagel Conference Room, SETRPC, 2210 Eastex Freeway, Beaumont

These meetings are designed to solicit the public’s ideas and input on proposed transportation improvement projects planned for the southeast Texas area. All meetings are the same and are not restricted to a specific area.  The public is strongly encouraged to be an active part of this process by selecting a meeting day and time that fits their schedule. For more information or for special needs requests (48 hours), contact Bob Dickinson at (409) 899-8444 extension 7520 or

SETRPC is designated as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for the Jefferson-Orange-Hardin Regional Transportation Study (JOHRTS) area.  SETRPC, in conjunction with the Texas Department of Transportation, local governments and other interested parties, facilitates the regional multi-modal transportation planning process.