Bear Bass Team nets School of the Year by SE Texas High School Fishing Association

Published 9:25 am Wednesday, May 9, 2018

On Saturday May 5, The Little Cypress-Mauriceville High School Bass Team won the first ever “School of the Year” from the Southeast Texas High School Fishing Association. Two LCM teams were also chosen as “Anglers of the Year;” there were only 15 chosen from 600 teams. Taking 11th place were Dakota Posey and Jack Burke. Tyler Shearin and Kameryn Henderson earned 13th Place.

On Sunday, the Shearin – Henderson team, along with boat captain Lee Shearin, won the tournament with a two-day total of 42.40 pounds.

According to Nellie Miller, who manages the LCM Team, “We have another Championship this next weekend for the Deep East Texas Tournament Series and on June 16, there are several who have qualified and will fish in the Texas State Championship.”