Early voting for Primaries begin, filing for other entities ends

Published 8:03 am Saturday, February 17, 2018

By Dawn Burleigh

The Orange Leader


Time to start casting your vote for the Primaries.

Early voting begins on Tuesday, Feb. 20 to determine which candidates will be on the November General Election Ballot.

While Kenneth Luce (R) name will be on the ballot, Luce dropped from the race after the ballots were printed. Also on the Democrat ballot is Don Brown, whom the Democrat Party determined to not have filed in a timely manner so ineligible to be on the November General Election Ballot. Both were running for Orange County Judge.

With three names on the Republican ballot for County Judge, Brint Carlton or Dean Crooks will have to receive 51 percent of the vote in order to avoid a Run Off election before the General election.

Filing ended for local entities for the May 5, 2018 General Election.

U.S. Senator

Beto O’Rouke (D)

Bruce Jacobson, Jr. (R)

Edward Kimbrough (D)

Geraldine Sam (R)

Mary Miller (R)

Sema Hernandez (D)

Stefano de Stefano(R)

Ted Cruz (R)*


  1. S. Representative District 36

Brian Babin (R) *

Dayna Steele (D)

Jon Powell (D)


Adrian Ocegueda (D)

Andrew White (D)

Barbara Krueger(R)

Cedric Davis, Sr. (D)

Demetria Smith (D)

Grady Yarbrough (D)

Greg Abbott (R)*

James Jolly Clark (D)

Jeffrey Payne (D)

Joe Mumbach (D)

Lupe Valdez (D)

SECEDE Kilgore (R)

Tom Wakely (D)

Kathie Glass (L)



Lieutenant Governor

Dan Patrick (R) *

Michael Cooper (D)

Mike Collier (D)

Scott Milder (R)


Attorney General

Justin Nelson (D)

Ken Paxton (R)*


Comptroller of Public Accounts

Glenn Hegar (R) *

Joi Chevalier (D)

Tim Mahoney (D)


Commissioner of the General Land Office

Davey Edwards (R)

George P. Bush (R)*

Jerry Patterson (R)

Miguel Suazo (D)

Rick Range (R)

Tex Morgan (D)


Commissioner of Agriculture

Jim Hogan (R)

Kim Olson (D)

Sid Miller (R)*
Trey Blocker (R)


Railroad Commissioner

Chris Spellmon (D)

Christi Craddick (R)*

Roman McAllen (D)

Weston Martinez (R)



Justice, Supreme Court, Place 2

Jimmy Blacklock (R)

Steven Kirkland (D)


Justice, Supreme Court, Place 4

John Devine (R)

R.K. Sandill (D)


Justice, Supreme Court, Place 6

Jeff Brown (R)

Kathy Cheng (D)


Presiding Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals

David Bridges (R)

Maria T. (Terri) Jackson (D)*

Sharon Keller (R)


Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals Place 7

Barbara Parker Hervey (R)

Ramona Franklin (D)


Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals Place 8

Dib Waldrip (R)*

Jay Brandon (R)

Michelle Slaughter (R)


Member, State Board of Education, District 7

Elizabeth “Eliz” Markowitz (D)

Matt Robinson (R)


State Senator, District 3

Robert Nichols (R)*
Shirley Layton (D)


State Representative District 21

Dade Phelan (R)*


Justice, 9th Court of Appeals District, Place 3

Leanne Johnson (R)*


Justice, 9th Court of Appeals District, Place 4

Hollis Horton (R)*


260th Court Judge

Steven Parkhurst (R)

County Judge

Stephen Brint Carlton (R)*

Dean T. Crooks (R)

Judge, County Court-at-Law

Mandy White-Rogers (R)*

District Clerk

Vickie Edgerly (R)*


County Clerk

Brandy Robertson (R)*

County Treasurer

Christy Khoury (R)*

David W. Smith (R)
County Commissioner Pct. 2
Barry M. Burton (R)*

Deborah Mitchell (D)

Theresa Beauchamp (R)

Deborah Mitchell (D)

County Commissioner Pct. 4

Robert Viator (R)

Jody Crump (R)*
Justice of the Peace Pct. 1

Gail Barnett (D)

Hershel Stagner, Jr (R)*


Justice of the Peace Pct. 2

Chad Jenkins (R)

Justice of the Peace Pct. 3

Joy Dubose-Simonton (R)*

Justice of the Peace Pct. 4
Rodney Price (R)*


Orange County Democratic Chair

Marcus Wilkerson (D)

Louis Ackerman (D)


Orange County Republican Chair

David Covey (R)



Orange City Council:

Larry Spears Jr. and Charles Ray Thomas will face off for Mayor.

Pat Pullen is the only one to file for Single-Member District 1.

A special election to take place at the same time for At-Large Position 6 will not have an opponent at Paul Burch is the only one to file for the position. Currently Spears holds the seat but is stepping down to run for Mayor.

Pinehurst City Council:

The City of Pinehurst will NOT be holding an election this year.  All incumbents filed for their current seats on the Council and none are opposed.  The following individuals will retain their places on the Pinehurst City Council:

Joseph L. Runnels – Mayor

John D. Zerko – Alderman

Cynthia Adams – Alderwoman

Bridge City City Council:

Bridge City will see an election for Place 6 between incumbent Lucy Fields and challenger Joseph Hannan

Mayor David Rutledge, Place 2 Kirk Roccaforte and Place 4 Eric Andrus did not have opponents file.

West Orange City Council

West Orange will not see an election as no one challenged incumbents Shirley Bonnin, Dale Dardeau and Mike Shugart.