UIL has new districts aligned as schools now know who they play

Published 10:40 am Thursday, February 1, 2018

BEAUMONT — After all the dust was settled, Orange County athletic directors, head football coaches and administrators were pretty satisfied with what the University Interscholastic League’s Realignment of new districts had  to offer Thursday morning.

There were no big surprises according to all of the head football coaches.

Orangefield, which has moved down to Class 3A, will participate in football in District 12-3A Division I. They will compete against Anahuac, Buna, Hardin, Kirbyville, Warren, East Chambers and Woodville.

In all of the other sports, the Bobcat boys and girls programs will play in District 22-3A with Anahuac, Buna, Hardin, Kirbyville, Kountze, Warren and East Chambers.

In Class 4A Division I football, Bridge City and Little Cypress-Mauriceville will be in District 11-4A Division I and will play Huffman, Livingston, Lumberton and Splendora. Both Lumberton and Splendora moved down from the 5A ranks.

In 4A Division II football, West Orange-Stark will still take on Hamshire-Fannett, Hardin-Jefferson, and Liberty while Silsbee will be in there as well to replace Orangefield as the Tigers go from Division I to Division II.

In all of the other sports, Bridge City, LC-M and WO-S will participate in 22-4A with Hardin-Jefferson, Lumberton, Hamshire-Fannett and Silsbee.

In Class 5A Division I football Port Arthur Memorial will be in District 9-5A with the likes of Goose Creek Memorial, Galena Park, Houston Austin, Houston Wisdom, Humble Kingwood Park, New Caney and New Caney Porter.

In 5A Division II football District 12-4A will consist of Vidor, Port Neches-Groves, Nederland, Baytown Lee, Crosby, Dayton, Barbers Hill and Santa Fe.

All of the other local teams in 5A will compete in other sports in District 21-5A that will include Vidor, PN-G, Nederland, Port Arthur Memorial, Barbers Hill, Dayton and Cleveland.

In football in Class 6A, Beaumont West Brook along with the new Beaumont school after Central and Ozen merge, will be in District 21-6A against the likes of Baytown Sterling, Channelview, Deer Park, North Shore, La Porte and C.E. King.in other district of note, Jasper will compete in District 9-4A Division 2 football against Center, Tarkington, Huntington and Shepherd and will be in District 20-4A in other sports playing Carthage, Center, Huntington and Lufkin Hudson.

The Deweyville Pirates will play football in District 12-2A Division I against the likes of Groveton, Hull-Daisetta, San Augustine, Shelbyville and West Sabine and will be in District 24-2A in other sports against Evadale, Hull-Daisetta, Sabine Pass and West Hardin.

The District 12-2A Division II football district will consist of Evadale, Colmesneil, Grapeland, Lovelady, Sabine Pass, West Hardin and Burkeville.

Of course, area football coaches were eager to get their non-district football schedule updated after all the changes.

Thus far, WO-S has games lined up with Nederland, LC-M, Bridge City and Jasper. LC-M is going to play Woodville, WO-S, Jasper and Hardin-Jefferson. Bridge City has lined up Diboll, Jasper, WO-S and Silsbee while Orangefield has Houston KIPP Generational School, Shepherd and Livingston. Vidor will play Montgomery, Houston Sharpstown and Conroe Caney Creek.