Peveto, Bears rack up at Lumberton CC Invitational

Published 1:33 pm Thursday, September 28, 2017

LUMBERTON — Little Cypress-Mauriceville’s Eli Peveto captured first-place in the Varsity I Boys Division and the Bear team finished a solid second in the team standings at the Lumberton Raider Cross Country Invitational last weekend.

Peveto ran the muddy 5,000-meter course in a sizzling 17 minutes, 41 seconds. Lumberton’s Trent Stoute was a distant second with a time of 18:19.

The Bear boys, meanwhile, finished right behind Nederland to snare second-place team honors. Nederland was first with 34 points followed by the Bears (59), Port Neches-Groves (71), Livingston (77), Lumberton (115) and Vidor (149).

Rayce Piper placed seventh for the Bears, running a 18:49. Peveto and Piper were followed by teammates Jackson Baeza (10th, 19:21), Trevor Turner (15th, 20:16), and Stephan Kusek (32nd, 23:07).

Renaissance Academy’s Mary Kathryn Gibson won the Varsity I Girls Division, running 5,000 meters in 21:39.46. PN-G won the team title with 24 points while Nederland was second and Livingston third.

In the Boys Varsity 2 Division, Silsbee won the team title with 33 points followed by Bridge City (50), Hamshire-Fannett (85), Hardin-Jefferson (99), Cristo Rey Jesuit (105) and Buna (138).

Hardin-Jefferson’s Rob Saunders won the 5,000-meter race in 19:35.14.

Reuben Valencia led Bridge City, finishing sixth with a 21:04.80. He was followed by teammates Kyler Young (10th, 21:51.01), Caden Shaw (12th, 22:13.18), Nathan Rhodes (13th, 22:21.51), Adrian Draughn (15th, 22:26.84), Alex Miller (22nd, 23:44.07), AJ Williams (28th, 24:13.26).

LC-M’s Cameron Smith was 14th with a 22:22.65 followed by teammates Blake Marshall (23rd, 23:51.93), Chase Fisher (26th, 24:02.46) and Mathew Erb (47th, 27:39.05).

In the Girls Varsity 2 Division, Orangefield’s Madison Helm placed a solid second behind Hamshire-Fannett’s Macie Gauthier. Gauthier won over a two-mile course, finishing with a 13:41 while Helm ran a 13:54.

Hamshire-Fannett won the team title as well with 33 points followed by Woodville, Bridge City, Silsbee, Hardin-Jefferson, Buna, LC-M and Cristo Rey Jesuit.

Kaylen Smith paced Bridge City, finishing seventh with a 15:04. She was followed by teammates Kyler Meyer (ninth, 15:16), Brooklyn Sheffield (16th, 15:39), Kaitlyn Torbett (19th, 16:03), Destiny Block (23rd, 16:22), and Riley Thomason (30th, 17:21).

Kiera Figgins led LC-M, placing 24th with a 16:38 followed by teammates Robyn Cormier (25th, 16:43), Olivia Keltz (34th, 18:13), Mackenzie Holland (35th, 18:17) and Alora Jones (51st, 19:25).