More Than $1 Billion in Federal Funds Approved for Texas Survivors

Published 11:00 am Thursday, September 21, 2017

Special to The Leader

AUSTIN, Texas – Three weeks after the federal disaster declaration for Hurricane Harvey, $1.09 billion in federal funds have been provided directly to Texans to aid in their personal recovery.

The funds include grants to households from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), claims payments from the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) and disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).

“This is a major milestone in our collective effort to support Texans in their recovery,” said Federal Coordinating Officer Kevin Hannes. “A billion dollars is going directly to survivors of Hurricane Harvey three weeks after the President declared a major disaster. This will help people get started rebuilding their lives. The speed of this assistance is historic for Texas.”

“SBA’s disaster assistance employees are committed to helping businesses and residents rebuild as quickly as possible,” said SBA Acting Regional Administrator Dorothy Overal. SBA representatives continue to meet with business owners and residents at all State of Texas/FEMA Disaster Recovery Centers and five SBA Business Recovery Centers throughout the impacted area to answer questions about SBA’s disaster loan program, explain the application process, help them complete their application and close their approved loans. For a list of locations, visit SBA’s website at

As of Sept. 17, 2017:

  • FEMA approved more than $333millionin grants for eligible individuals and families in 39 counties for housing assistance, including emergency home repairs, replacement and rental assistance.
  • FEMA approved more than $146 millionin grants for replacement of essential personal property and help with medical, dental, legal and other disaster-related expenses.
  • NFIP paid more than $347millionto policyholders in advance payments to expedite the recovery process.
  • SBA approved more than $265millionin low-interest disaster loans for homeowners, renters and businesses.

Ten counties with the highest FEMA household assistance totals as of Sept. 17, 2017:

  • Harris County, $198.6 million
  • Galveston County, $44.7 million
  • Fort Bend County, $22.2 million
  • Aransas County, $18.4 million
  • Brazoria County, $15.8 million
  • Jefferson County, $14.2 million
  • Orange County, $13.3 million
  • Chambers County, $12.7 million
  • San Patricio County, $9.9 million
  • Nueces County, $9.6 million

In addition, FEMA’s Public Assistance Program approved $181 million for local and state agencies to reimburse the costs of debris removal and emergency response.

FEMA also made $516 million in mission assignments to more than two dozen federal agencies to assist in response and recovery operations. The agencies include: Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, Army Corps of Engineers, Customs and Border Protection, Corporation for National and Community Service, Defense Logistics Agency, Department of Homeland Security, Department of Housing and Urban Development, Department of Justice, Department of Commerce, Department of Defense, Department of Energy, Department of the Interior, Department of State, Department of Transportation, Environmental Protection Agency, Federal Aviation Administration, Federal Communications Commission, Federal Protective Service, General Services Administration, Department of Health and Human Services, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, Occupational Health & Safety Administration, National Park Service, Transportation Security Administration, U.S. Air Force, U.S. Coast Guard, U.S. Department of Agriculture and U.S. Forest Service.

Residents who experienced disaster-related, under-insured losses in the following counties should register for assistance with FEMA: Austin, Aransas, Bastrop, Bee, Brazoria, Calhoun, Chambers, Colorado, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Karnes, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Orange, Polk, Refugio, Sabine, San Jacinto, San Patricio, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller and Wharton Counties.

Registration is easy:

  • Online at gov.
  • Phone 800-621-3362(voice, 711/VRS-Video Relay Service) (TTY: 800-462-7585). Multilingual operators are available (press 2for Spanish).
  • Via the FEMA app, available for Apple and Android mobile devices. To download visit: gov/mobile-app.