Orange County Texas Exes award four scholarships to local 2017 high school graduates attending UT Austin this fall

Published 2:36 pm Friday, May 26, 2017

Special to The Leader

LCM High School graduate Jennifer Ellis is the recipient of the Judge Pat Clark Endowed Scholarship and has been accepted into the Moody College of Communications, majoring in Public Relations. She is a member of National Honor Society and served as class secretary as well as historian of the International Thespian Society. Jennifer was an All-American cheerleader and also active in LCM theater and UIL Young Filmaker Festival, placing 4th in State.

Kevin Fontenot, Bridge City graduate, received the June & Jesse B. Gunstream Endowed Scholarship and will enter the UT McCombs School of Business in the fall. He ranks 3rd in his class, is an AP Scholar and an Eagle Scout. Kevin was a member of the All-State 5A Band and front ensemble captain. He was also the captain of the UIL spelling team and historian of the Spanish Club at BC.

Orangefield High School Valedictorian, Anna VanPelt, has received the Wynne Hunt Memorial Endowed Scholarship. Anna will major in Government in the UT College of Liberal Arts and plans to pursue a law degree. She is president of the National Honor Society as well as president of the senior class. Anna was an academic All-State volleyball player and was elected Miss Orangefield High School 2017 by the teaching staff.

Connor Alexander of LCM high school is the recipient of the James & Charlotte Pruter Memorial Scholarship. He has been accepted into the UT Liberal Arts Honors Program and will major in Government and Business Marketing. Connor was winner of the Lutcher Stark Reading Contest for two years and received numerous Best Actor awards in UIL one act plays. He attended Boys State at UT Austin and is Senior Class Treasurer. He is also president of the LCM Interact Club and serves as secretary of the National Honor Society.