Lamar State College-Orange Holds Spring 2017 Commencement

Published 4:26 pm Friday, May 26, 2017

Special to The Leader

City of Orange Councilman, Larry Spears, Jr., was the featured speaker for the LSC-O Spring 2017 Commencement held Friday, May 12 at the Lutcher Theater.

A 1998 graduate of West Orange-Stark High School and a 2001 graduate of Lamar Institute of Technology, Larry Spears, Jr. is the Safety, Health and Environmental Coordinator for DuPont. In addition to his 15 years of service at DuPont, Spears currently holds a seat on the Orange City Council.

For the first time in the history of Lamar State College-Orange, the graduates included thirty-five high school students who had successfully completed the required curriculum through the Dual Credit program. The students were from Bridge City, Buna, and West Orange-Stark Independent School Districts.

Four graduates of Lamar State College-Orange graduated with the designation of summa cum laude, with “highest honors.” Summa cum laude designation includes those students with grade point averages of 3.8 to 4.0. The students with this designation were Kaylin Michelle Mitchem of Vidor, Patrick Arden Johnson, Scotty Ray Jordan, and Joseph William Bloodworth II, of Orange.

Magna cum laude, or “high honors” designation, is awarded to graduates who earn GPAs of 3.65 to 3.79. The six students receiving this recognition were Gerardo Santos, Cory John Lenz, and April Michelle Mathews, of Orange; Cameron Colby Williams of Bridge City; Jamie Michelle Hall of Jasper, and Sherrie Lynn Willoughby of Vidor.

Nine students graduated cum laude, or with “honors” designation, with GPAs of 3.50 to 3.64. The students with this honor were Jason Allen Bischof, Amiee Michelle Hebert, Bryon Hilton Bacon, and Conan Lee Thomas of Bridge City; Diana Olivia Wright, Tyler John Vayon, Alaina Mary Warren, and Molly H. Freed of Orange and Emily Michelle Broussard of Starks, LA.

Please join us in congratulating all of our graduates on their academic accomplishments. Graduates are listed below according to hometown and degree earned:

Associate of Arts:

Bridge City: Aimee M. Hebert, Liberal Arts.

Buna: Stacie Renee Latham, Liberal Arts.

Orange: Molly Hopkins Freed, Cedric Stacy Lee, Dylan Charles Mumbach, Jordan Kayla

Watson, Teaching 2; Tiffany Nicole Pillette Harris, Patrick Arden Johnson, and Cory John Lenz

Liberal Arts.

Vidor: Blake Reed Galloway and Kaylin Michelle Mitchem, Liberal Arts; Lori E. Middleton,

Schexnider Teaching 1.


Associate of Applied Science:

Bridge City: Jason Allen Bischof Instrumentation; Conan Lee Thomas Industrial Technology;

Byron Hilton Bacon, Travis Cole Morrison, Dustin William Shelton, and Tyler Michael Western

Process Operating.

Buna: Brae Corley Brawley Ford and Margaret Yvonne Wood Yates, Medical Office Professional.

Deweyville: Mitchell Lee Brown and Wyatt Pierce Cole, Process Operating.

Mauriceville: Kameron Wade Broussard, Process Operating.

Orange: Gloria Faye Barnhart and Andrea Brown Hunt Medical Office Professional;

Dustin Michael Braquet, Jonathan Ryan Lollar, Gerardo Santos, Jr., and Cameron Colby Williams, Instrumentation; Mariah Elizabeth Cotton-Wills, Business Management; Megan Brooke Peterson, Information Technology; Daniel Keith Brinson, Bruce Tyler Burns, Zachery Dean Carruth, Tyler Clayton Clark, Charles Emmett Cobb, Jr., Rebecca Elizabeth Boyle Dumesnil,

Richard Anthony Duran, Dylan Andrew Frazier, Hunter Blake Harbert, Nicholas Joey Harvey,

Marcelino Ibarra, Scotty Ray Jordan, April Michelle Migues Matthews, Brent Wade Minchew, Lanston Garret Monceaux, Tam Nguyen, Jr., Adam Michael Phillips, Hannah Cail Primm, Turquoy Jahmi Riggs, Justin C. Small, Tyler J. Vayon, Alaina Mary Warren, Austyn Blayne Wolfford, and Diana Oliva Wright, Process Operating.

Vidor: Andrew Ryley Collins, Business Management; Dustin James Daigle, Nicholas Christopher Granito, and Chase Buford Nunnally, Process Operating.


Associate of Science:

Bridge City: Courtney Ann Mummey and Keely Danyelle Richard, Business; Jose Miguel Salazar Computer Science.

Buna: Victoria Savannah Garcia, Business; Kendall Darlene Tousha, Criminal Justice.

Mauriceville: Tiffany Ngoc Vu, Natural Science.

Orange: Joseph William Bloodworth II, Liberal Arts; Johnathon Lee Shon Brown, Samantha Jo Burgess, Hannah Nicole Foreman, Christine Laverne Fort, Evan Paul Guidry and Megan Anne Posey; Lexxie Michelle Gardner, Liberal Arts; Cesar Robles, Criminal Justice.

Vidor: Sherrie Lynn Willoughby, Computer Science.


Certificate of Completion:

Bridge City: Aimee M. Hebert, General Studies.

Buna: Brae Corley Brawley Ford Medical Office Assistant and Medical Administrative Assistant;

Kendall Darlene Tousha Criminal Justice and Criminal Justice Corrections; Margaret Yvonne Wood Yates, Medical Office Assistant.

Evadale: John Quincy Honeycutt, Safety, Health & Environmental.

Orange: Gloria Faye Barnhart, Ursula Danyell Carter Celestine, and Andrea Brown Hunt, Medical Administrative Assistant and Medical Office Assistant; Kenneth Blake Harrison and Skylar Dax Kitchens, Cisco Networking; Christoher Jamail Johnson, Process Technology; Taylor Rae Jurek, Pear’lisha Danielle Solomon, and Ashley Faye Turner, Medical Office Assistant; Brenda Joyce Anderson, O’Neal Safety, Health & Environmental; Megan Brooke Peterson, Cisco Networking, Information Technology Support Assistant Software and Hardware; Nathaniel Lane Zerko, Cisco Networking and Information Technology Support Assistant.

Starks, LA: Emily Michelle Broussard, Medical Office Assistant.

Sulphur, LA: Lindsey Ann Weidner Roach, Medical Administrative Assistant and Medical Office Assistant.

Vidor: Justin Scott Huelsman and Andrew Michael Smith, Safety, Health & Environmental; Haley Leanne Sorrell Schmidt, Business Management; Colette M. Turnbull, Medical Office Assistant.


Institutional Award:

Bridge City: Jacob Ryan Bland and Hope Danielle Orandy, EMT-Basic.

Buna: Brae Corley Brawley Ford Medical Office Receptionist; Braedon Zane Hilton, EMT-Basic.

Orange: Shatyra Jonaye Allen, Elecia Branae Barlow, Jazmin Allexis Barnes, Natiyah Breshae Brumfield, Cruz-Angel Hernandez, Alexis Deshawndra Holt, Sundas Imtiaz, Ariah Nicole O’Neal, Bryce David Potter, Charles Wynn Powell, Mikayla Nicole Reynolds, Angel Marie Sehon, Ja’Quiesha Ya’Nique Smith, Ashton Kay Stanley, Alexis Brooke Switzer, Alexcia Da’Shun Tezeno, Latricia Jaynea Wilson, Guadalupe Ortiz Vega, and Diamond La’trease Young EMT-Basic; Andrea Brown Hunt, Taylor Rae Jurek, and Ashley Faye Turner, Medical Office Receptionist.

Starks, LA: Emily Michelle Broussard, Medical Office Receptionist.

Sulphur: Lindsey Ann Weidner Roach, Medical Office Receptionist.

Vidor: Randall Shane Herrera and Thomas Howard Meadows, Jr., EMT-Basic; Colette M.

Turnbull Medical Office Receptionist.

Vinton, LA: Angelle’ Louise Hebert Chalubiec, Medical Office Receptionist.

West Orange: Erin D. Sartor, Medical Office Receptionist.