Lamar State College-Orange Recognizes Students’ Academic Achievement at Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Induction Ceremony, Spring 2017

Published 12:55 pm Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Special to The Leader

On Friday evening, April 28th, The Alpha Nu Gamma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society welcomed 33 new members for the spring 2017 semester. The Induction Ceremony was held in the LSC-O Student Center gym. Twenty inductees along with their family and friends attended, as well as Phi Theta Kappa officers and advisors.

Phi Theta Kappa Chapter Advisor Elizabeth Pressler prefaced the ceremony with a brief slideshow introducing the honor society’s meaning, mission, and purpose. Co-Advisor Amanda Smith summarizing opportunities for member involvement in projects and activities of the Alpha Nu Gamma Chapter at LSC-O.

Bobbi Miller, LSC-O Instructor of Sociology and former Phi Theta Kappa Advisor, gave the keynote address. In appreciation for her long-standing support of Phi Theta Kappa, Chapter Advisors and Officers presented Ms. Miller with a certificate pledging a $50 donation to a charity of her choice.

Phi Theta Kappa Chapter Officers and Members played key roles during the event. Member Molly Freed invited inductees to sign the Membership Ledger. Chapter President Melanie Lee presided over the ceremony and led inductees in reciting the oath of membership. For each inductee, Executive Vice President Keleigh Dempsey lit a candle and presented a white rose, representing knowledge and purity, respectively.

Following the ceremony, inductees and guests enjoyed a reception that included pulled pork sandwiches, vegetarian lasagna, hors d’oeuvres, cake, and punch. Advisor Amanda Smith prepared the pork and lasagna. Inductee Ashley Dubose baked and decorated the cake.

The Alpha Nu Gamma Chapter expresses gratitude to SGA representative and student employee Zederick Cezar, Coordinator of Student Activities Alicia Jones, and Student Activities Assistant Ashley Guillory for help with event setup. The Chapter also offers sincere thanks for the expertise of David Simar and Linda Cheatham of Information Technology Services in resolving last-minute slideshow technology glitches.

LSC-O students become eligible for Phi Theta Kappa membership once they have completed at least 12 college-level credit hours and earned an institutional GPA of 3.5 or better during their last five years of enrollment. Attendance at the induction ceremony is not a condition of membership.

The benefits of Phi Theta Kappa membership include recognition of academic achievement, as well as opportunities to apply for scholarships and participate in service projects and leadership development programming.

New Phi Theta Kappa members include the following:

BEAUMONT, TX: Ahli Little

BRIDGE CITY, TX: Chelsey Chaffin, Jonathan Holland, Delaney Voegeli,

BUNA, TX: Hannah Barnett, Ashlee Conner

DEWEYVILLE, TX: Naomi Williams

KOUNTZE:   Cali Winger

LAFAYETTE, LA: Sentrenae Senegal

LAKE CHARLES, LA: Destinie Dellafosse

NEDERLAND, TX: Candace Knowles

ORANGE, TX: Kaci    Burton, Ciara Crooks, Ashley Dubose, Ashlyn Ellison, Madalyn Frey, Abigail Gentz, Kenneth Harrison, Ronald Johnson, Jacqueline Medina, Sarah Middlebrooks, Catherine Seppi, Laci Smith, Krisana Stubbs, Brooke Tant, Ethan Williams

ORANGEFIELD, TX: Caitlyn Glawson

SILSBEE, TX: Yeimmi Arriaga

VIDOR, TX:   Amberly Bowman, Cassandra Brush, Lori Schiesler

WARREN, TX:   Chelsea Bumstead

WEST ORANGE, TX: Terra Hoffpauir