Salter, Smith face run-off

Published 8:24 am Wednesday, May 10, 2017

By Dawn Burleigh

The Orange Leader


City of Orange faces a run-off election between Terrie T. Salter and Michael Smith for Single Member District 3 as 51 percent vote is required.

Essie Bellfield, the incumbent, lost her first election on Saturday. Bellfield has been involved in politics since 1951. She is also the first woman and first black mayor for the City Orange. She was once election Justice of the Peace for County Precinct 5, before the Appeals Court overruled the election.

“The courts said we could not have a fifth precinct,” Bellfield said. “We formed it so we could have representation on Commissioners Court.”

Terrie Salter said she is ready for round two with the run off election to be held in June.

The election will be canvased at a special call meeting on Tuesday, May 16, 2017. The council will schedule the runoff election after the canvassing of the votes. The expected date of the election is July 22, 2017.

Brad Childs, owner of Child’s Building Supply in Orange, is the only person who has filed for City of Orange Single Member District 2 by the deadline of Monday, May 8, 2017.

The seat was vacated by the resignation of Dr. Wayne Guidry. Guidry was named Superintendent of Hubbard ISD.

Orange County Emergency Services District 4 proposals failed at the election Saturday

To implement a 1.5 percent sales tax was For 134, Against 369.
To increase property taxes 3 cents per $100 valuation results were For 97, Against 399.


City of Orange Single Member District 3

Essie Bellfield*           126     27.16%

Terrie T. Salter          204     43.97%

Michael Smith            134     28.88%

There will be a run-off between Salter and Smith on June 17, 2017.


City of Orange At Large Place 6

Larry Spears, Jr.*    809     71.09%

Veronica Woodle       298     26.19%

Mary Ekene               31       2.72%


West Orange Cove Consolidated ISD School Board

Ruth Hancock*         418

Tricia Stroud  323

Kianna Edwards-Brooks      259

Tommy Wilson Sr. 515


Little Cypress Mauriceville ISD Board of Trustees

Place 1

Randy McIlwain       351


Place 2

Barry L. Bates            123

Kevin Abernathy 279


Place 3

Marlene Courmier 350



Bridge City School Board

Place 6

Michael C. Johnson*            375

Michael Daniel McGee          114


Place 7

Mark Anderson*      391



Bridge City Council

Place 1

Carl Harbert             183

Phillip Todora Jr.       148


Place 3

Tammi Fisette         303


Place 5

Terri Gauthier         294




Vidor ISD bond proposal failed    881-1276