VFW hosts Community Appreciation Awards

Published 9:47 am Monday, April 24, 2017

Special to The Leader

Orange Veterans of Foreign Wars and Auxiliary Post 2775 hosted a Community Appreciation Awards Program with over 110 present.  The program began with a welcome by Post Commander Charles Sterling, followed by Southeast Texas Veterans Service Group posting colors followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.  Guest Speaker was Lanie Brown, who is Community Director of Public Relations with U.S.

Congressman Brian Babin’s office.  She was also an active part of the program and also accepted a Special Recognition Plaque on behalf of Congressman Babin, who is a well-known Veterans advocate.  Awards and checks were presented to the Voice of Democracy winners (Autumn Rendall, Lydia Covey, Hunter Stutes); Patriot’s Pen winners Ravin Jourdain, Ayaan Tejani, Rebecca Forester and Lizeth Delafvente; Teacher of the year Rhonda Brown; Southeast Texas Hospice; Southeast Texas Veteran’s Service Group and CASA.  Plaques were awarded to the Eagle Scout of the Year Josh Howard, Fireman of the year Bryant Champagne and Police Officer of the year, Chris Arnold.  Framed Citations of Recognition were also presented to local fire departments, police departments, local schools and teachers who work with the students involved in VFW/Auxiliary programs.sherrif’s department, The Orange Leader, KOGT Radio Station, The Record and recognition of surprise visitor, George Garza with the Vidor Vidorian.  The cash awards amounted to $1,375 in addition to the many plaques and framed citations.  A buffet provided by the Auxiliary was enjoyed prior to the program.