Early election starts Monday

Published 9:36 am Monday, April 24, 2017

By Dawn Burleigh

The Orange Leader


Monday marks the beginning of the Orange City Council election and the West Orange Cove Consolidated Independent School District Board of Trustees Election.

Residents will have an opportunity to have their voice heard as they make their selection on the ballots for a Council Member for Place 3 and a Council Member for At-Large Place 6 as well as two positions for the West Orange Cove Consolidated ISD School Board.

Early voting will be at the Orange Public Library, 220 N. Fifth Street, between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. beginning on April 24, 2017 and ending on May 2, 2017 including two twelve-hour days, April 25, 2017 and May 2, 2017, between the hours of 8 a.m. and 8 p.m.

Applications for ballot by mail shall be mailed to:

Tina Barrow, Administrator at Orange County Elections Administration, 123 S. Sixth Street, Orange, Texas 77630

Applications for ballots by mail must be received not later than the close of business on April 25, 2017.

City of Orange Single Member District 3

Essie Bellfield*

Terrie T. Salter

Michael Smith


City of Orange At Large Place 6

Larry Spears, Jr.*

Veronica Woodle

Mary Ekene


West Orange Cove Consolidated ISD School Board

Ruth Hancock*

Tricia Stroud

Kianna Edwards-Brooks

Tommy Wilson Sr.


Little Cypress Mauriceville ISD Board of Trustees

Place 2

Barry L. Bates

Kevin Abernathy


Bridge City School Board

Place 6

Michael C. Johnson*

Michael Daniel McGee


Bridge City Council

Place 1

Carl Harbert

Phillip Todora Jr.