Local teachers win $150k cash awards

Published 10:30 am Saturday, March 18, 2017

Special to The Leader


The Beaumont Foundation of America announced the 15 recipients of the 2017 Reaud Excellence in Education Award. Since 2009 the Foundation has recognized superior teachers whose dedication and leadership inspire both students and fellow educators. The awards provide public acclaim and financial rewards to these teachers who are furthering excellence in education throughout Southeast Texas.

Wayne A. Reaud, Chairman of Board, stated, “Education is the key to a better future and great teachers are the key to education. Our winners are outstanding representatives of excellence in education.”

These great teachers are first nominated by their campus committees. The winners are selected by the Beaumont Foundation and will be honored at a May 2 awards banquet. Each will receive $10,000 in recognition of exemplary contribution to the lives of their students.

The 2017 Reaud Excellence in Education Recipients in Orange County are:


Darla Marino, Pine Forest Elementary School, Vidor ISD

Middle School

Ronda Sunderland, Mauriceville Middle School, Little Cypress Mauriceville CISD

High School

Valrie E. Gilbeaux, Bridge City High School, Bridge City ISD

Joe Waldrum Jr., Deweyville High School, Deweyville ISD