Contested races for May elections

Published 6:26 am Saturday, February 18, 2017

By Dawn Burleigh

The Orange Leader


Friday marked the deadline to file for a place on the May ballot.

One name is missing from the previous list, Paul Burch.

Burch had filed for City of Orange Single Member District 3 but has since discovered he is not eligible at this time.

“I have discovered that since my current move of residence that I did not register as a voter for that specific district,” Burch said. “I have already made the adjustment to my voter registration but it did not meet the length of time that the guidelines state are required for me to be a candidate.”

Incumbent Essie Bellfield will face Terrie T. salter and Michael Smith for the City of Orange Single Member District 3 seat.

Incumbent Larry Spears, Jr. will face Veronica Woodle and Mary Ekene for City of Orange At Large Place 6.

Current School Board President Ruth Hancock, Tricia Stroud, Kianna Edwards-Brooks, and Tommy Wilson Sr. will run for West Orange Cove Consolidated ISD School Board.

Little Cypress Mauriceville ISD Board of Trustees will have one contested race for Place 2 between Barry L. Bates and Kevin Abernathy. Randy McIlwain was the only person to file for Place 1 and Marlene Courmier is also uncontested for Place 3.

Drawing for a place on the ballot for LC-M ISD Board elections will be conducted 9 a.m. Wednesday, February 22, in the Administration Board Room.

Bridge City School Board will also hold an election for Place 6 between incumbent Michael C. Johnson and Michael Daniel McGee.

Incumbent Mark Anderson is uncontested for Place 7.

The City of Pinehurst will cancel the elections for councilmembers as the three incumbents Dan Mohon, T.W. Permenter, and Sarah McClendon are the only ones to have filed.

The election for contested races will be on Saturday, May 6, 2017.