Filing continues for local elections

Published 10:39 am Wednesday, February 8, 2017

By Dawn Burleigh

The Orange Leader


With the deadline for filing to run for city council or local school boards ending on Friday, Feb. 17, 2017, it appears, at this time, there may only be three contested races.

Barry L. Bates and Kevin Abernathy have both filed for Little Cypress Mauriceville ISD Board of Trustees Place 2.

Paul Burch, Essie Bellfield and Terrie Salter have filed for City of Orange Single Member District 3.

Larry Spears Jr., Veronica Woodle, and Mary Ekene have filed for City of Orange At Large Place 6.

Applications received for a place on BCISD Election ballot are Place 6 – Michael C. Johnson-incumbent and Place 7 – Mark Anderson –incumbent.

Also filed for Little Cypress Mauriceville ISD Board are Randy McIlwain for Place 1, and Marlene Courmier for Place 3.

For West Orange Cove Consolidated ISD School Board Ruth Hancock and Tricia Stoud have filed thus far.

For the City of Pinehurst, the incumbents, Dan Mohon, T.W. Permenter, and Sarah McClendon are the only ones to have filed at this time.

For the City of West Orange with the mayor and two Alderman positions available at the next election, the only person to file has been Mayor Roy McDonald.

The election will be held on May 6, 2017.