WO-S’ Dallas, Joseph each a Smith Finalist

Published 3:42 pm Thursday, January 26, 2017

BEAUMONT — A pair of West Orange-Stark Mustangs are Willie Ray Smith Awards Finalist after they were announced on Wednesday night.

Mustang senior quarterback Jack Dallas is up for the Offensive Award and senior Mustang defensive lineman Morris Joseph is up for the Defensive Award.

The awards will be handed out Feb. 22 at 6:30 p.m. at the MCM Elegante in Beaumont.

Both played huge roles in leading the Mustangs (16-0) to the Class 4A Division II State Championship in which WO-S hammered out a 24-6 victory against Sweetwater.

Dallas will look to repeat at the WRS Awards after winning the honor last year.

Dallas completed 142-of-239 passes for 2,402 yards and tossed 38 touchdowns with just eight interceptions. He also rushed for 11 scores.

Meanwhile, Joseph terrorized opposing offenses. Tims put together 156 tackles, 26 for losses and hhad nine sacks. Joseph was part of a defense that notched eight shutouts and only allowed 125.4 yards a game.

Other Offensive Finalists Port Neches-Groves quarterback Roschon Johnson, Beaumont West Brook running back Joel Denley and Silsbee running back Calvin Tyler.

Other Defensive Finalists includes Port Neches-Groves linebacker Logan LeJeune, Port Arthur Memorial defensive back Kary Vincent and Beaumont West Brook defensive back Deonte Henson.

PN-G’s Johnson passed for 2,359 yards and 29 Tds and rushed for 1,628 more and 28 TDs. Denley had 1,899 yards rushing for the Bruins while Silsbee’s Tyler rushed for 2,839 yards and 30 TDs on just 245 carries.

LeJeune notched 150 tackles, 41 for lossees including 14 sacks. Henson made 67 tackles and had three interceptions and three fumble recoveries for the Bruins while Vincent had eight interceptions, two going back for TDs for the Titans.

The Smith Awards is considered Southeast Texas’ Heisman Trophy. It was created in 1992 and first given out in 1993.

Smith won 235 games and two state championships in 33 seasons as coach at Beaumont Charlton-Pollard, Orange Wallace and Lufkin Dunbar.

Players are first nominated by their coaches and then members of the media vote for their top four players in each category. Media winners then vote for one winner on each side of the ball.


Here are the past Willie Ray Smith Award winners:

1993: Dexter Hebert, Kelly

1994: Jay McGuire, Silsbee

1995: Jeffery Spikes, Burkeville

1996: Elijah Burkins, Thomas Jefferson

1997: Bryan Bock, Bridge City

1998: Offense: Chip Ambres, West Brook; Defense: Charles Sias, WO-S

1999: Offense: Beaux Daville, Orangefield; Defense: Rod Gulley, Newton

2000: Offense: Dustin Long, PN-G; Defense: Gayron Allen, WO-S

2001: Offense: Sean Yoder, Nederland; Defense: Jermaine Hope, WO-S

2002: Offense: Tony Eckert, Lumberton; Defense: Ricky Wilson, Lincoln

2003: Offense: Matt Peebles, Bridge City; Defense: William Bryant, Jasper

2004: Offense: Jamaal Charles, P.A. Memorial; Defense: William Morrissey, Silsbee

2005: Offense: Jamaal Charles, P.A. Memorial; Defense: Brian West, Ozen

2006: Offense: Kenneth Beasley, WO-S; Defense: Sean Weatherspoon, Jasper

2007: Offense: Micah Mosley, Nederland; Defense: Earl Thomas, WO-S

2008: Offense: Cody Hussey, Lumberton; Defense: Tramain Thomas, East Chambers

2009: Offense: Christian Micheal, West Brook Defense: Kevin Robinson, WO-S

2010: Offense: Jeremy Johnson, Silsbee; Defense: Jacoby Hale, Central

2011: Offense: Fred Ford, Kirbyville; Defense: Colin Garrett, West Brook

2012: Offense: Terrence Singleton, P.A. Memorial; Defense: Corbin Carr, Nederland

2013: Offense: Montana Quirante, Vidor; Defense: Montana Quirante, Vidor

2014: Offense: Patrick Reed, Silsbee; DeShawn Washington, Nederland

2015: Offense: Michael Jacquet, Central; Defense: Deionte Thompson, WO-S

2016: Offense: Jack Dallas, WO-S; Defense: Steven Tims, WO-S