SETRPC installs new officers

Published 5:14 am Wednesday, January 25, 2017

Special to The Leader

The South East Texas Regional Planning Commission (SETRPC) recently hosted its 45th Annual Meeting on Thursday, January 19, 2017, at 6:30 pm. The Annual Meeting was held at the City of Beaumont Event Centre, 700 Crockett Street, Beaumont, Texas.

The SETRPC is a voluntary association of local governments established in June 1970 that includes Hardin, Jefferson and Orange Counties. SETRPC promotes intergovernmental cooperation and coordination, and provides a forum for the discussion and study of area issues.

Meeting highlights included the installation of SETRPC Officers for 2017 as follows:

Commissioner Eddie Arnold, Jefferson County, President

Commissioner Chris Kirkendall, Hardin County, 1st Vice-President

Commissioner Barry Burton, Orange County, 2nd Vice-President

Mayor Rebecca “Becky” Ford, City of Bevil Oaks, 3rd Vice-President

Councilmember Mary Adams, City of Kountze, Treasurer

Mayor Pro Tem Kirk Roccaforte, City of Bridge City, Secretary

In addition, two Lamar University students were presented scholarship awards. Ms. Laura Stager was the recipient of the Don Kelly Scholarship Award in Social Work, and Ms. Jordan Rodeheaver was the recipient of the Mayor Frances K. Monk Scholarship in Public Service.