Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD honored the 2016 LCM Awards inductees

Published 10:53 am Wednesday, September 14, 2016

Special to The Leader

LITTLE CYPRESS — On Friday evening, September 9, Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD honored the 2016 LCM Awards inductees. Hall of Fame, Military Wall of Honor, and Distinguished Alumni were honored at a pre-game reception, then introduced prior to kickoff at the football game.

The Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes and honors alumni who have distinguished themselves in an exemplary manner. The 2016 inductees include Jonathan Davis, marine biologist, whose research was featured on the Discovery Channel’s Shark Week; Blake Poutra, local business owner of the Refinery Source, and recently featured in VIP magazine; Justin Hayes, Director of Ministry Operations for Parental Care Ministries, serving the children of Uganda and East Africa; John Hargrove, former senior killer whale trainer for SeaWorld, now a New York Times bestselling author; Dr. Melanie Dennison Marshall, Dentist and representative for “Healthy Huddle,” a partnership with the NFL Retired Players Association; defense attorney Trenton Marshall, recognized as a Top Attorney in the Fort Worth Magazine; Greg Perry, Assistant Superintendent for LCM CISD, who has guided the District to achieve the Texas Comptroller’s Leadership Circle for financial transparency and Superior Achievement Ratings; Judge Mandy White-Rogers, County Court at Law, Orange County, Texas; and Drew Waters, producer, director and actor, whose directorial debut will take place in October with the release of his feature film, “New Life.”

Military Wall of Honor inductees are Purple Heart recipient, Staff Sergeant Scotty Hallman, who served in the Army from 2002-2014 and who has numerous medals and commendations to his credit; Cadet 4th Class Jordan Dobranski, graduate from the US Air Force Academy Preparatory School, current Cadet at the USAF Academy for the Class of 2020; and Marines, Sgt. Gregory Charrier, active since January 2012 and Lance Corporal Drake Blanchard, active since January 2015.

The Hall of Fame inductees are recognized for their generosity in being significant contributors of time, effort and resources. These are Marlene and Alan Courmier and Jodi and Matt Purgahn.