Battlin’ Bears hosting 1-0 Hawks

Published 9:28 am Wednesday, September 7, 2016

LITTLE CYPRESS — Looking to get their feet back on solid ground, the Little Cypress-Mauriceville Battlin’ Bears will be seeking their first win of the 2016 campaign when they welcome the Hardin-Jefferson Hawks to Battlin’ Bear Stadium Friday night.

The Bears (0-2) will be looking to shake off last week’s 45-0 loss at the hands of Class 4A No. 1 West Orange-Stark while the Hawks (1-0) look to continue their winning ways after downing Buna 40-25 last week.

The Bears lead the all-time series against the Hawks 11-5 with the Bears pulling out a 42-28 offensive slugfest victory a season ago.

LC-M will look to get its offense going after getting just 63 total yards against the Mustangs after they gained 237 in a season-opening 25-13 road loss at Jasper. The Bears are currently averaging 150 yards a game and would love to boost that up with the Hawks coming in.

Kayne Williams leads the LC-M Slot-T ground game through two tilts as he has 85 yards on 12 carries. Chris Winters has 81 yards on 30 totes while Trey Guillory has 44 yards on 12 carries.

Bear quarterback Beau Bickham has completed 5-of-12 passes for 74 yards.

Despite their two losses, the LC-M defense has been solid.

The Bears held WO-S to 259 yards despite the loss last week and are allowing 266.5 yards a game.

The Hawks saw their first game of the year against Coldspring get canceled due to rain and lightning but came back strong last week against Buna. The Hawks led the Cougars 33-0 at one point.

Four starters return to the Hawk Slot T offense. Look for Brayden Pelt and Logan McLeod to both play at quarterback.  Joining them in the backfield will be senior running back Talon Tilley, running back Cole Priddy and running back Brayden Pomirko.  Also seeing time in the backfield will be Gavin Boles and Dylin Duhon-Walker.  Ryan Meade will lead the Hawk offensive line.

Eight starters return to the Hawk 4-3 defense.  Up front, Tim Flores will lead a defensive line which will also include Carlo Landry and Hunter McNair.  Tilley will lead a linebacker corp which will also include linebackers Kelechi Nwachuku, Brach Whitman and Chris Walters.  Pomirko will join safety Grayson Kash, Priddy and Jayce Celestine to patrol the Hawk secondary.

The Bears will remain at home for the third week in the row next week when they play host to Orangefield for Homecoming.

Series history

1956: LC-M 7, H-J 6

1957; H-J 20, LC-M 7

1961: LC-M 12, H-J 0

1966: H-J 13, LC-M 0

1967: H-J 17, LC-M 15

1968: LC-M 20, H-J 0

1969: LC-M 27, H-J 24

1972: LC-M 21, H-J 6

1973: LC-M 22, H-J 6

1974: LC-M 28, H-J 7

1975: LC-M 36, H-J 14

1976: LC-M 7, H-J 7

2000: H-J 35, LC-M 0

2001: LC-M 21, H-J 9

2014: H-J 27, LC-M 7

2015: LC-M 42, H-J 28