Bears hosting Mustangs in 31st Orange Bowl

Published 10:39 am Thursday, September 1, 2016

LITTLE CYPRESS —It’s time for old rivals to collide again Friday night when the Little Cypress-Mauriceville Battlin’ Bears welcome in the West Orange-Stark Mustangs as the two will battle it out for The Orange Bowl Trophy.
The Mustangs (1-0) got off to a fast start last week as they look to defend their Class 4A District 12-4A Division II title along with defending their 2015 4A Division II state title by pounding out a 42-0 shutout victory over the Nederland Bulldogs.
Meanwhile, the Bears (1-0) will look to bounce back from a 25-13 road loss at the hands of the Jasper Bulldogs in which the game did not start until 9 p.m. due to lightning delays.
This will mark the 31st meeting between the two Orange County squads.
The Mustangs lead the all-time series 28-2.
LC-M’s last victory was a 37-6 win on the road in 1994 as the Bears stormed to the district title. The Mustangs have won 17 straight since, including a 26-13 victory at home last season.
The Bears fought hard in their loss to Jasper. The Bulldogs scored 18 unanswered points in the second half to pull away for the win.
Jasper back Kellian Wearthered was a thorn in the side for the Bears as he ripped off 175 yards on 28 carries and scored three touchdowns while also passing for another.
LC-M went up 7-0 in the first quarter off a three-yard run by Chris Winters.
However, Jasper tied it midway through the second quarter when Wearthered scored on a two-yard jaunt.
LC-M quarterback Beau Bickham gave the Bears a 13-7 edge with 8:31 in the third with a two-yard keeper.
Jasper tied it when Wearthered completed a 24-yard touchdown pass to Victor Williams.
Wearthered then added touchdown runs of 13 and four yards in the fourth quarter to help seal it for the Bulldogs.
The Bears were hurt by an interception that was very questionable as they looked to tie the game or take the lead in the fourth period.
Jasper outgained the Bears 274-237.
Kayne Williams led the LC-M ground attack with 70 yards on 11 carries. Winters had 40 yards on 11 totes while Trey Guillory had 48 yards on eight carries.
Bickham completed 5-of-12 passes for 74 yards.
The Mustangs simply dominated Nederland in all three phases of the game on a muddy field at Hooks Stadium.
WO-S piled up 364 yards of total offense.
Quarterback Jack Dallas completed 10-of-18 passes for 157 yards, all of it coming in the first half.
Tailback Jeremiah Shaw zipped for 70 yards on nine carries, caught three passes for 45 yards and scored three TDs.
Junior quarterback Chaka Watson erupted on a 69-yard TD run while Kavyn Cooper had 53 yards on 10 carries while Keion Hancock had five receptions for 78 yards.
No doubt that the WO-S defense was ready to rip as they held the Bulldogs to just 81 total yards and six first downs. Nederland had minus 12 yards rushing and WO-S linebacker Justin Brown had a 18-yard interception return for a TD.
The Mustang shutout marked the 100th time the defense has recorded a “goose egg” in the school’s proud history.
In last season’s win over the Bears, the Mustangs picked up 388 yards while the Bears had 186.
Dallas was 18-of-24 for 220 yards and three TDs. Hancock had six catches for 90 yards. KJ Miller had three catches for 68 yards and two TDs while Melech Edwards rushed for 108 yards.
Winters had 90 yards on eight totes for the Bears.
This will be the first of three home games in a row for the Bears, who will host Hardin-Jefferson next week. The Mustangs will visit Bridge City next week.
Series History
1982: WO-S 7, LC-M 0
1983: LC-M 27, WO-S 0
1984: WO-S 13, LC-M 9
1985: WO-S 42, LC-M 7
1986: WO-S 15, LC-M 0
1987: WO-S 28, LC-M 14
1988: WO-S 56, LC-M 0
1989: WO-S 42, LC-M 7
1990: WO-S 57, LC-M 6
1991: WO-S 21, LC-M 13
1992: WO-S 35, LC-M 14
1993: WO-S 42, LC-M 0
1994: LC-M 37, WO-S 6
1995: WO-S 27, LC-M 7
1996: WO-S 27, LC-M 6
1997: WO-S 15, LC-M 3
1998: WO-S 42, LC-M 7
1999: WO-S 28, LC-M 0
2000: WO-S 53, LC-M 0
2001: WO-S 42, LC-M 7
2002: WO-S 21, LC-M 7
2003: WO-S 30, LC-M 10
2006: WO-S 35, LC-M 14
2007: WO-S 6, LC-M 0
2008: WO-S 48, LC-M 7
2009: WO-S 28, LC-M 14
2012: WO-S 18, LC-M 0
2013: WO-S 21, LC-M 3
2014: WO-S 29, LC-M 12
2015: WO-S 26, LC-M 13