Run-Off early voting starts Monday

Published 10:33 am Saturday, May 14, 2016

By Dawn Burleigh

As citizens wrap up voting for city council and school board elections one week ago, Monday starts early voting for the Primary Run-Off Election.

Early voting begins 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. Monday – Friday, May 16 – May 20, 2016. Extended hours from 8 a.m. – 8 p.m. on Tuesday, May 17.

Voting locations will be at Orange Public Library at 220 North 5th Street in Orange, Bridge City Public Works Building at 220 Nitsche in Bridge City, Mauriceville Volunteer Fire Department at 10691 North State Hwy. 62 in Mauriceville, and Raymond Gould Community Center at 385 Claiborne in Vidor.

The sole local election on the ballots are for Precinct One for County Commissioner between Bobby Manshack and Johnny Trahan.

Trahan came in with 1,046 votes with Manshack coming in with 828. Trahan had 35.2% of the votes while Manshack claimed 27.86% on the March 1 election.

Voters for the Republican ticket across the county will also vote for Railroad Commissioner. Wayne Christian and Gary Gates are competing for the seat. Democrats will choose between Grady Yarbrough and Cody Garrett. The winners of the election will face off in November.

The Railroad Commission of Texas is the state agency that regulates the oil and gas industry, natural gas utilities, pipeline safety, the natural gas and hazardous liquid pipeline industry and surface coal and uranium mining in Texas.

Republicans will also decide between Mary Lou Keel and Ray Wheless for Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place Two and for Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place Five between Scott Walker and Brent Webster.

Ballots are samples for the Primary Run-Off Election. Early voting is May 16- May 20. Election Day is May 24:

2016 Democratic Primary

2016 Republican Run-Off1

Voting locations:

2016 Democratic Run-Off

2016 Republican Run-Off

2016 Run-Off (EV)