Local teachers win $150,00 cash awards

Published 6:45 pm Friday, March 25, 2016

Special to the Leader


The Beaumont Foundation of America is pleased to announce the 15 recipients of the 2016 Reaud Excellence in Education Award. Since 2009 the Foundation has recognized superior teachers whose dedication and leadership inspire both students and fellow educators. The awards provide public acclaim and financial rewards to these teachers who are furthering excellence in education throughout Southeast Texas.


Wayne A. Reaud, Chairman of Board, stated, “Education is the key to a better future and great teachers are the key to education. Our winners are outstanding representatives of excellence in education.” These great teachers are first nominated by their campus committees. The winners are selected by the Beaumont Foundation and will be honored at a May 3rd awards banquet. Each will receive $10,000 in recognition of exemplary contribution to the lives of their students.


The 2016 Reaud Excellence in Education Recipients



Rochelle L. Celeste, Sallie Curtis Elementary School, Beaumont ISD

Cindy L. Durden, Highland Park Elementary School, Nederland ISD

Brenda D. Jones, Little Cypress Intermediate School, Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD

Rachel E. Maclean, John H. Kirby Elementary School, Silsbee ISD

Robyn L. Glosson, Warren Elementary School, Warren ISD


Middle School:

Barbara D. Henry, Willie Ray Smith Sr. Middle School, Beaumont ISD

Kathy Hollier, Groves Middle School, Port Neches-Groves ISD

Heggie L. Coulter, Orangefield Junior High School, Orangefield ISD

Leslie A. Snider, Henderson Middle School, Hardin-Jefferson ISD

Lynnette Causey, Kirbyville Junior High School, Kirbyville CISD


High School:

Stacey D. Hansard, West Brook High School, Beaumont ISD

Michael A. Perryman, Nederland High School, Nederland ISD

Kathie A. Dorman, Bridge City High School, Bridge City ISD

Holly M. Woollen, Lumberton High School, Lumberton ISD

Shirlene C. Hryhorchuk, Deweyville High School, Deweyville ISD