Runoff for Commissioner Pct. 1 between Trahan, Manshack

Published 12:04 am Wednesday, March 2, 2016

OC Sheriff remains the same

By Dawn Burleigh

After a long night of waiting for results, the numbers starting coming in showing Ted Cruz as the winner of the Republican Primary Election with Hillary Clinton as a the Democrat Primary Election.

With 18,327 ballots cast out of 50,999 registered voters in Orange County, residents showed support of current Orange county Sheriff Keith Merritt with a landslide of 11,173 votes against David W. Smith who received 3,067 votes.

Johnny Trahan and Bobby Manshack will face a run off for the position of Commissioner Pct. 1. Trahan came in with 1,046 votes with Manshack coming in with 828. Trahan had 35.2% of the votes while Manshack claimed 27.86%.

John Gothia received 54.91% of the votes with 2,069 votes overtaking incumbent John Banken receiving 1,699 of the votes.

Karen Fisher will hold the seat of County Tax Assessor after defeating Debbie (Dubois) Meaux by a slim margin. Fisher received 50.60% of the vote while Meaux held strong with 49.4%.

“There were no major issues in this race.” Karen Fisher said after seeing the results of the 2016 Primary Election. “It was a clean race. I put my faith in God and I am grateful for the outcome.”

Commissioner Pct. 3 race was closely watched as well between John Banken, incumbent, and John Gothia.

Gothia received 54.91% of the votes defeating Banken by 370 votes.

“We are very excited,” Gothia said upon hearing the final numbers. “I am looking forward to work in the future to grow the county so we can improve the quality of life for the employees and citizens. We focused on and are proud of a clean campaign. I would like to thank all the people who supported me.”


2016 Democrat Candidates

County Chair

* Debra Mitchell 1,970

Don Brown 560


2016 Republican Candidates

Commissioner Pct .1

Gary Hinote 266

Shirley Zimmerman 527

Ryan Peabody 305

Bobby Manshack 828

Johnny Trahan 1,046


Commissioner Pct. 3

* John Banken 1,699

John Gothia 2,069



* Keith Merritt 11,173

David Smith 3,067


Constable Pct. 2

Jeremiah W. Gunter 1,216

* David Cagle 2,485


Constable Pct. 4

* Weldon Peveto 1,938

Jimmy Lane Mooney 2,008


Tax Assessor Collector

Debbie Dubois Meaux 6,932

Karen Fisher 7,099


County Clerk

Brandy Robertson 6,845

Trish Williams 5,936


* Incumbent